Chef John's Spaghetti alla Carbonara Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Really enjoyed this recipe! I subbed bacon & regular old grated parmesan & doubled for 4. Thought the pasta water to deglaze the bacon pan was genius - a nice sauce without cream. Definitely a do-again recipe. Thank you Chef John !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Made EXACTLY as chef John suggested. Right down to the pancetta and whole wheat barilla pasta. The video is the best! Tasted light and creamy, just like I was expecting. Licked my plate clean! Update: Subbed chicken in for bacon and definitely needed bacon! Good as a "creamy pasta" for dairy allergy son!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Georgetown, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
I loved this recipe! I added the yellow onion as recommended by some. I could not find the guanciale, so I used 3 oz. of Pancetta and some bacon. It was delicious!! My hubby wants me to cook it again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
We thought this was just okay. I wouldn't necessarily go out of my way to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
This recipe is great and easy! I used plain bacon and only parmesan cheese and it was still wonderful. Very useful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
My wife and I really liked it, but it was way too peppery as is, and my wife loves spicy food. Next time I'll make it with half the pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
This was quick easy meal that the family loved. All I had on hand was regular bacon and parmesan cheese, but other than that I followed the recipe as directed and added some frozen peas at the end. I will definitely be making this one again. Thank You Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lodi, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
I followed the recipe to a tee and it turned out fabulous the very first time! Didn't have guanciale, but I did have thick bacon. But don't skimp on the cheese - get the good stuff. I think that made all the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
I followed the recipe for four people but actually fed 6 people. Instead of guanciale I used thick bacon the same way. I set browned chicken strips over top of each serving, sprinkled cheese and added cherry tomatoe slices and a fresh basil leaf. Beautiful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
Carbonara is my all time favorite pasta dish! I've always been afraid to try it because I thought the recipe was complicated. I got this recipe via email "recipe of the day" and thought I'd try it. I had to use pancetta because I couldn't find guanciale. I also used linguine noodles because I prefer them. Other than that, I followed the recipe as written. It was super easy to make and incredibly delicious! I seriously almost ate all of it myself. The peppery taste is incredible. Don't skimp on that and use fresh ground if possible! I thought the whole cup of water would be too much, but it's not. It made a delicious creamy sauce. I'm not sure how this will reheat. I have a feeling the sauce will separate. I'm going to try though because throwing the left overs out would be a sin. Seriously, this recipe is awesome! I loved this dish and will definitely make it again now that I know how! If you love carbonara, definitely try this. If you don't love carbonara, you will after you make this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pam632

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Spaghetti Carbonara II

Bacon, eggs and pasta--what's not to like?

Chef John's Spaghetti al Tonno

See how to make an easy, flavorful tuna sauce for spaghetti.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States