Chef John's Spaghetti alla Carbonara Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
for some reason, despite following the directions and watching the video, my pasta did not have a creamy, smooth sauce. It was almost like scrambled eggs with the pasta. I am sure the problem is in my technique. It was also very peppery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
I made this two nights ago and it was amazing! We'd never had it before but the ingredient list was temptingly simple. It was easiest for me to ladle out a cup of water from the pasta pot before draining, like in the video. I used pancetta (from the deli) since we couldn't find guanciale, and personally we really enjoyed it and I wouldn't necessarily see a reason to use bacon instead, but I might have to try it just to see. For the two of us plus leftovers, I adjusted the recipe ingredients to use about 9oz of spaghetti and then I just eyeballed out "about half" the container, this way I used exactly 3 XL eggs. My parm was also blended with romano and came from the kraft shaker, but I grated up fresh romano for the rest, and since it is kind of strong I went a bit light for our personal tastes. This is a terrific recipe, but since we love mushrooms and red bell peppers, I think they might be a perfect addition to the next batch! I'm gonna make it when people visit :P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Englewood, Florida, USA
Living In: Superior, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
EXCELLENT!!! A must try, I used bacon and doubled the egg and cheese because I used a whole box of whole wheat spaghetti noodles. Other than that, I stayed true to the recipe and it was EXCELLENT!! Thanks Chef John!! another great one :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denece

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
Love this, great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montour, Iowa, USA
Living In: Basalt, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
I made this exactly as written and used Pancetta as recommended by the Chef. It was nothing special. Taste was blah, with the only real flavor coming from the pepper, making for a pretty one-dimensional dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I will be trying this recipe again, because the flavor was there, but it was soupy and didn't at all resemble the photo. I double checked the recipe when I had all this sauce. It did indeed call for 1 cup pasta water, next time, I will add a little at a time, or just 1/4 cup or so. I only added 1/2 teaspoon of pepper and it was more than spicy enough with that small amount. I guess it depends on the amount of heat that you like. As I said flavor was great, otherwise. My husband enjoyed it very much, I just would have preferred it to be drier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Thank you chef John for a carbonara recipe without cream. My mom used to make this when I was a kid and I loved it. Unfortunately I didn't get the recipe from her before she died and I have been looking for one like hers. Most recipes I have found use cream and I know my mom did not. Anyway I made Chef Johns recipe but added a couple things like peas, onions and garlic. I also used pancetta for the meat which I believe is very similar to guanciale. Everyone in my family loved it. Give stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Used bacon. Didn't start with as much pepper as the recipe called for but ended up adding probably as much if not more when we ate it. Delicious! Not a low-calorie dish but quick and easy comfort food on a cold night. Served with thin whole wheat spaghetti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grace T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
This was pretty good, but had kind of a heavy taste which detracted from it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
This recipe was good/okay. It was a decent meal, but not on par with Buca di Beppo or what I've had in Europe. Nice try, but I'm still looking for a great carbonara recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Spaghetti Carbonara II

Bacon, eggs and pasta--what's not to like?

Chef John's Spaghetti al Tonno

See how to make an easy, flavorful tuna sauce for spaghetti.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States