Chef John's Spaghetti alla Carbonara Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by voraciousgirl
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2015
Used slab bacon from the farmers market. A bit less pepper & added chopped parsley. Love the stirring trick. Perfectly cream. Such an easy, weeknight pantry meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by voraciousgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by Dolci C.
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2015
This came
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2015
I make this often - my 13 y.o. is not a fan of tomato sauce. I double the recipe for 4 servings, but we like a bit more sauce, so I sometimes add a bit of chicken stock and/or white wine, after cooking the bacon (which, btw, I like to add a bit of crushed garlic to, once the bacon is nearly done), especially since I usually use turkey bacon and there is not much fat in the pan. (I'd rather not add too much butter to make up for it). If I don't have stock or wine on hand, I always need to add more of the reserved pasta water. Now, here's a tip form a former pastry chef who has made a LOT of custard in her time: add a small amount of the still hot (reserved) pasta water to the egg, cheese & pepper mixture and whisk to temper the eggs. It will be much easier to make a smooth sauce and with no risk of the eggs cooking too quickly while you struggle to mix them into all of that spaghetti! Thanks for the great recipe, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by earthygirl

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2015
Yum! Easy, affordable, delicious. We use bacon but otherwise follow the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2015
Surprising! With so few ingredients, I just didn't see that this was going to be so good. I have a tried and true cream based pasta carbonara sauce that we all just love. I was curious about this recipe since it's entirely different, and knowing that, I didn't expect one to replace the other. This is a lighter, but still flavorful dish that is completely different. The dosage of pepper is very distinct and the egg mixture does make a nice cream sauce, despite my hesitation that it would. Will definitely keep this recipe and do like that it's about 2/3rds the calories per serving of my other pasta carbonara recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
I made it just as the recipe suggested. Not sure what I did wrong, but mine came out sorta chunky! At first I thought it was the cheese conglomerating together, but actually I think the egg scrambled! It tasted good, but it definitely was NOT creamy! Any suggestions on how to avoid scrambling the egg mixture when you add it?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
So simple. Family loved it. IWish we had a real Italian market for Guanciale. Making my own. Know it will be better than what was prepackaged.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
I'm half Italian and have been living here for over 28 years. So I can fully guarantee that the above recipe is correct. Hence the 5 stars. However there is a small cooking trick that we do here in Italy to make sure that the sauce is creamy and that the eggs don't curdle. First we only use the yellow of the eggs inorder to make the egg taste not so strong (you may use the whole egg if you want). Second you should beat the egg and mix a part of the grated cheese together and then add a couple of spoonfools of the pasta water while the pasta is boiling to this mixture. The pasta water will help make this mixture creamy. When you add the egg mixture it should be done on either a very low heat or even better off the stove. If necessary add extra pasta water. All the rest remains the same... ingredients ect... hope this helps it works for me now my pasta is never dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Whoa, Mama, was this good! I also used onion with the bacon, and it gave a nice touch. Didn't have pecorino cheese handy, so I used straight parm-reggiano. So glad I learned how to do this kind of sauce with egg instead of cream, as it provides a lower-calorie alternative. Big fan of Chef John's, and as always he makes it easy. Thanks, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Made this last night, I added red pepper flakes to it, omg it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Spaghetti Carbonara II

Bacon, eggs and pasta--what's not to like?

Chef John's Spaghetti al Tonno

See how to make an easy, flavorful tuna sauce for spaghetti.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States