Chef John's Spaghetti al Tonno Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
GREAT The frozen was very handy. Defenatly freeze again. Goes with a lot and is a main part of meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
Loved this recipe. I had all the ingredients on hand except for the San Marzano tomatoes so I took 2 cans of Fire roasted diced tomatoes and I pulsed it in my blender to get it to a "crushed" consistency. This was a quick and easy meal that I will definitely keep close at hand. I think i would like to try it with a can of salmon next time. Overall, it is a great dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking mama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
Sooo good! I didn't get to use anchovies, parsley, or capers because I didn't have any on hand : / but the rest was all put in and it was really delicious. Maybe next time I can add the other stuff and see how more delicious it can be : ) thank you John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
I'm poor right now. Thank you that I don't have to buy expensive spaghetti sauce to have good sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Lee Gunn
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
My husband and I tried this recipe tonight. I will admit that we used tuna in water, which may have been an issue. But we both feel the addition of shallots sauted withe the tuna and anchovies, more anchovies, and more capers would probably benefit this recipe. Coming from an Italian family I was always taught that you don't put cheese on fish or fish sauces. While I was hesitant to do so, I did for this recipe because it needed something
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
Go, anchovies! A wonderful introduction to traditional italian cooking. Just had it for dinner tonight and my 6 year old loved it. We made it non-spicy for her, and then added pepper flakes for us... I will add that this is a recipe where high-quality ingredients make a better dish, so spring for the italian pasta and tuna, and even the San Marzano tomatoes, it is worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
totally loved the flavors!did not use anchovy though hope to try it out with the anchovy fillet next time. Capers gave the food this amazing flavor and taste. Awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilian koome

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
I've made this recipe a few times and it is awesome! The last time, I used fresh yellow fin tuna in place of the canned tuna. I cheated by not making the sauce of this recipe the last time by using Chef John's "Hide The Little Fish" pasta/pizza sauce that I had leftover in the fridge and it was great! I prefer using imported pasta from Italy because it is pressed through bronze extruding equipment that gives the pasta more texture and that makes any sauce stick to it a little more. Another tip: ~ 1 teaspoon of anchovy paste equals 1 anchovy filet. I keep a tube of anchovy paste in my fridge for sauce recipes like this or for my Caesar salad dressing recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
I probably shouldn't rate this because I left out a couple key ingredients but I loved it so much I just had to. Plus I can only imagine it would be even better with the full ingredients. This is what I changed. I left out the capers and anchovies because I didn't have any. Also I used red wine instead of white because that's what was open. Also used dry parsley instead of fresh. Other than that, I made it as specifies and boy was it delicious. I will update this rating when I make it again with all the right ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by voraciousgirl
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
Fantastic pantry meal. Loved the flavors. I didn't drain my oil packed tuna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by voraciousgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Spaghetti al Tonno

See how to make an easy, flavorful tuna sauce for spaghetti.

Chef John's Lobster Mac and Cheese

Chef John's decadent dish of Lobster Mac and Cheese is WAY easier than it looks!

Chef John's Potato Gnocchi

Chef John reveals the tricks to making perfect potato gnocchi.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States