Chef John's Smothered Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
Just wondered if you used apples instead of onions would it work? My husband cannot have onions. It looks delish the way it is but I have to improvise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
Made this the other day. Great recipe for chops and one to put in the rotation list. Gravy is Da Bomb! Just make sure to caramelize the onion or don't bother. Also don't over cook your chops. Thanks Chef John. Gingy1
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rogue River, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Made this 2nite as written, bone-in chops are a must for a rich onion gravy. Served over wide egg noodles. Chops were moist & tender. Absolutely Dee-lish! Thanks Chef John, it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
I realize I'm rating and reviewing this with changes I felt I needed to make in order for me to eat the dish, so I won't apologize this time. It was an absolutely marvelous dish, and I feel like it would have been wonderful without my changes, except I wouldn't have been able to eat it. This is something I will have in mind each time I have left-over chicken, which is about once in 10 days to two weeks. I'm really going to enjoy this. I may cook extra chicken just so I'm sure to have left-overs! Thank you so much for a real taste treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
Have been making these regularly since I found the recipe in Chef John’s cookbook, “Americas Family Favorites: Best of Home Cooking” in 2011. Through my own tinkering, I now substitute Onion and Garlic powder for the Poultry Seasoning. I allow the chops to come to room temp, and lightly sift and pat in a coating of flour on them prior to frying, shaking off any excess. Follow the balance of instructions exactly. The wife and I enjoy Roasted Garlic Cauliflower from AR as a side. Good Stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aputler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Chef John everything that I've cooked from your recipes have been AWESOME,, Thank You
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
I just wish I could rate the other raters for not following the recipe! This recipe was outstanding the way it was presented. The onion gravy was just the topper for a well prepared Bone-in Pork chop that I found amazingly tender and flavorful. Thank You Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Foresthill, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Raquel
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Sooo yummy and quite easy. I added some dried thyme to the sauce but otherwise stuck to the recipe. :) Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raquel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I have made this twice and I must say that it tasted wonderful both times. This recipe is now in favorite folder in recipe box. Thanks chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cedarcreekcottage

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Delicious recipe! How anyone could find this recipe bland I have no idea because it was anything but bland. Maybe they didn't caramelize the onions as instructed? Which is an important step for this sauce. It had lots of rich, full flavor. The only modification I made was for the poultry seasoning I used Adolph's Seasoned tenderizer since my family doesn't like regular poultry seasoning. The spice set is perfect for this recipe. It has garlic powder in it but I sprinkled a little more on the chops before searing them; no need to salt since Adolph's has salt in it or you could just use garlic powder, onion powder and salt instead. If you plan on serving over rice, pasta or even potatoes, for that matter, you might want to consider increasing the sauce to 50% more since it didn't make quite as much as we wanted. The sauce is wonderful! I served over some ridged elbow pasta with fresh steamed green beans sauteed in a little olive oil, fresh minced garlic, kosher salt and freshly grated black pepper. The chops were gobbled up with a definite request for this one to be a regular in our house. It will replace my another smothered pork chop recipe I've been making for years. Thanks Chef John for another fabulous recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John's Smothered Pork Chops

See how to make simple pan-fried pork chops smothered in deliciousness.

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States