Chef John's Smothered Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
This was good, although we found it a bit bland. I used boneless loin chops (what I had in the freezer). Served with crushed potatoes and buttered peas; it was a nice, simple dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyd_Delve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
well when I talk smothered with onions, I feel one onion for 4 large bone in pork chops, 1 onion is not enough, I used 3 onions and adjust the other ingredients, and was delish, now I give mine a 5 star
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
Just wondered if you used apples instead of onions would it work? My husband cannot have onions. It looks delish the way it is but I have to improvise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Made this 2nite as written, bone-in chops are a must for a rich onion gravy. Served over wide egg noodles. Chops were moist & tender. Absolutely Dee-lish! Thanks Chef John, it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
I realize I'm rating and reviewing this with changes I felt I needed to make in order for me to eat the dish, so I won't apologize this time. It was an absolutely marvelous dish, and I feel like it would have been wonderful without my changes, except I wouldn't have been able to eat it. This is something I will have in mind each time I have left-over chicken, which is about once in 10 days to two weeks. I'm really going to enjoy this. I may cook extra chicken just so I'm sure to have left-overs! Thank you so much for a real taste treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I'm sure that the fact that I used boneless pork chops had something to do with my wanting to add something to it for a little more flavor. Bone-in chops add so much, but I wanted to use what I had. I did add a little Tajin to mine when we ate, but hubby liked these as written. I promise that I'll try this again when I get my usual bone-in chops! The onions were yummy! Thanks (again), Chef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
Have been making these regularly since I found the recipe in Chef John’s cookbook, “Americas Family Favorites: Best of Home Cooking” in 2011. Through my own tinkering, I now substitute Onion and Garlic powder for the Poultry Seasoning. I allow the chops to come to room temp, and lightly sift and pat in a coating of flour on them prior to frying, shaking off any excess. Follow the balance of instructions exactly. The wife and I enjoy Roasted Garlic Cauliflower from AR as a side. Good Stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aputler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
Made this the other day. Great recipe for chops and one to put in the rotation list. Gravy is Da Bomb! Just make sure to caramelize the onion or don't bother. Also don't over cook your chops. Thanks Chef John. Gingy1
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rogue River, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Chef John everything that I've cooked from your recipes have been AWESOME,, Thank You
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
I made this recipe tonight and the pork chops turned out tough. I used boneless pork chops and brown them the required time. I should have put them in foil when I took them out of the pan. I don't think they need to cook in the gravy but served them with the gravy over them. The taste was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's Smothered Pork Chops

See how to make simple pan-fried pork chops smothered in deliciousness.

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States