Chef John's Smothered Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
Absolutely excellent - Jim makes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by l.a.lady
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
I loved it! I did not use buttermilk so I used regular milk. I did not have chicken broth, so I used cubes and added water. It was so easy to follow oh, I also added very little cayenne just for a bite. Fantastic. I made it with steamed rice and veggies. The gravy was wonderful over the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by l.a.lady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
Chef John, these are the tastiest chops I've ever cooked up in my kitchen and I've made some really great chops! the sauce/gravy... yum! usually I tweak recipes to suite my tastes but I didn't change a thing. This was way ouy of my box on pork chops....the only problem is they were gone before I could take a picture. love, love LOVE the flavor!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Macias

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
Amazing. I thought the time was a bit off so the gravy developed with the pork chops in it, saving about twenty minutes off what the recipe suggests. Maybe it's better if I follow the recipe to a "T" but it was amazing with that shortcut and I'd do it again. My three year old twins don't often afford me lots of time for cooking dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fontana, California, USA
Living In: League City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
Sauce was delicious but my pork chops turned out extremely tough. I'm guessing I overcooked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
There wasn't much taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
We really enjoyed this, I omitted the salt on the pork chops and used salt free chicken granules to make the broth since I am on a low sodium diet, I used a very large onion to ensure enough for everyone, served with mashed potatoes and broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
Awesome dish... I think I might add Portobello Mushrooms the next time I make it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joseph Burchette

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lenoir, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2015
Absolutely delish! My kids even gobbled it up and they are not onion lovers! I served this with an Asian inspired rice with sesame oil and peas, so with that in mind I used a good quality low sodium chicken broth and added a few dashes of soy sauce to the gravy.(and no added salt)I used olive oil instead of butter and skipped the buttermilk because of dairy allergies (just added extra broth), the gravy/sauce was still rich and delicious and everyone had seconds! A perfect weeknight meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by westcoastmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
Hands down, the best pork chop dish I have ever made. Only change, I did not have any buttermilk, so added a little vinegar to milk. Not a difficult recipe. Minimal ingredients. Winner! Winner! Pork chop dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARENKY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Smothered Pork Chops

See how to make simple pan-fried pork chops smothered in deliciousness.

Tom's Down to the Bone Pork Chops

Tender and crispy baked pork chops.

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States