Chef John's Smothered Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by cecebeans
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
I followed the recipe to the Tee and it was phenomenal! I'm already looking forward to the left overs tomorrow. My husband thought the pork could have simmered maybe 5 minutes longer, but other than that it will become a recipe I will make often. AND this is someone who really does not eat pork often, so that is saying something. I also make a garlic mashed potato and steamed broccoli florets to go with this. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cecebeans
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
This is such a fabulous recipe!! Perfect as is:) Thank you for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
I made these last night exactly as directed. They were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
didn't change the sauce recipe but only used 2 pork chops. very yummy! sauce is great over white rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Made this tonight for the first time because I was looking for something a little different to do with pork chops. I made six chops and doubled the ingredients for the gravy. The only other thing I did differently was to substitute sour cream for the buttermilk, based on another reviewer's suggestion. It was fabulous! I served it over noodles and with biscuits and three bean salad on the side. My husband loved the gravy so much that he poured it over the hot biscuits. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Edwards Cook VanDyke

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Vanessa1
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
First time making these for my husband everybody enjoyed it.. Great and easy way.... absolutely love this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
Great recipe. We will be fixing this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
Excellent dish! I didn't change a thing because I have made several recipes from chef john and whatever he makes I love. I used boneless chops and they were so moist. My hubby ate three of them. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Followed recipe except used butter instead of vegetable oil and didn't drain after cooking pork chops. Awesome and Easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
The Onion Gravy part was absolutely divine!! But, for whatever reason, the pork was tough as nails, and I can't figure out why. So very disappointed, I was looking forward to fork tender pork. Used bone in pork, all other ingredients as listed, as well as techniques. I've rarely been a pork fan because of the toughness, but I had high hopes for this, and it simply didn't work. We'll enjoy leftover gravy with noodles and peas tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Smothered Pork Chops

See how to make simple pan-fried pork chops smothered in deliciousness.

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States