Chef John's Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2015
Great sloppy joe. My family loved it. Be patient and maybe turn up the heat a bit and it WILL thicken. I doubled the recipe and it took a little over an hour to thicken. Just allow extra time. Worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2015
So much better than Manwhich and easy, too!! I substituted 1/2 cup of BBQ sauce - my favorite is Mesquite - and 1/4cup ketchup. Also added diced green chiles. These are just my preferences. I've made Chef John's awesome recipe as is but have tweaked a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Living In: Somerville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2015
I've made it twice and it's delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2015
Flavor was good but not better than my usual recipe so I won't switch. Used the two cups of water called for, 1 listed in ingredients and second where it says add another cup of water and had to cook for an additional 15 minutes after original 45 minutes plus turn heat up to medium the last 15 and it finally got thick. I would say don't add that additional cup of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2015
WOW, this Sloppy Joe recipe will be my go to recipe from now on! I had a ton of potato rolls leftover from a picnic, so I decided to try this Sloppy Joe recipe…and it is perfect! My only change to the recipe was to replace the green pepper with some paprika because a few of my family members do not like peppers. I took the other reviewers advice and did let it simmer until the liquid absorbed, which it did and it turned out great! Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2015
Very good and easy! I added more Worcestershire sauce, a little chili pepper and paprika and some diced celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2015
Half the family said it was good and the other half said "eh." Personally, I think it tastes like canned sloppy joe sauce but without all of the chemicals. At least it's homemade and you know what's in it!! It was a good change of pace for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2015
This is on the sweet side but that didn't stop everyone wanting another sandwich. Mine took an hour simmering to get to the right consistency. Could I get the same results from using less water the second time around....maybe. Will I do that next time....probably not. It was so good I don't want to mess with it. Cayenne is a must because of the sweetness. I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hammond, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2015
this was good. although I will use less water next time. it took 55 minutes to boil down. the flavors were even better the next day. we topped them with jalapeño cheddar cheese slices and omitted the red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2015
Fantastic recipe! Tasted better than the store bought kind in a can. Easily adjustable recipe to suit individual taste preferences although I made it as written and it came out divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Sloppy Joes II

See how to make an All-American classic!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States