Chef John's Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
I made this for a potluck at work, everyone LOVED it! It was pretty simple, the only drawback is the time it takes to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookin'Cyn
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
Since I like my Joes on the "sweet" side, this was delicious! I liked the fact that these were not laden with heavy tomato sauce, of which I don't care for. Two full cups of water seemed way too much for this recipe. One cup of water seemed to be plenty. Adding more just didn't make any sense. It still took awhile for it to cook down to the consistency I was looking for. The flavors were heaven. Other than a reduction in water, I wouldn't change a thing. I'll never buy a packet or can again. Thanks, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin'Cyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, California, USA
Living In: Salmon, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
I don't eat Sloppy Joes but my husband said these were the best and I can make them anytime. He said they tasted even better the next day in his lunch. Thanks Chef John for another great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
I followed the recipe as written, using extra lean ground beef, and I still found these to be too greasy. The flavor was spot on, though. Next time I will drain the ground beef before adding the water and the remaining ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
This is a really good, simple base recipe. I also add about 2 teaspoons of sweet pickle relish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
I have this simmering on the stove as I am typing this. I have made this several times and it comes out perfect every single time. I use red pepper instead of the green and I reduce the last adding of water to only 1/2 a cup but other than these 2 minor changes, I follow the rest of recipe exactly. This is the only recipe I use since the first time I tried it. You will not be disappointed!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Love this recipe. We throw a little extra stuff in it (chili powder, cumin, cajun seasoning), but its really good as is! I'm not to big on sweetness, so I omit the sugar, and replace almost all the ketchup with tomato paste. Key to this is LETTING IT SIMMER until thick. Don't add flour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
I tried this recipe for Super Bowl day and we loved it. What a perfect-tasting sloppy joe on an Hawaiian bun! The interesting part was that we wanted stuffed peppers for dinner so I used the left-over sloppy joe mixture and added a jar of regular salsa and brown rice (cooked for 20 min.) while the peppers were par-boiling for 5 minutes. They were cooled in an ice bath and then stuffed and baked for one hour. There was enough sauce to baste them if desired. They were delicious especially with a side of mashed or baked potatoes. Next time I will top them off with cheese. Thank you Chef John for the best sloppy joe. Hiawatha W.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Good base for a sloppy joe but found it a little bland. We added some Franks Red Hot Sauce to taste and that gave it the zip we thought was missing. Also served it on buttered and toasted buns. Will make this again. thx Chef John
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
This turned out great. I followed the recipe but I didn't add things in exactly the same. I left out the cayenne pepper and added several more dashes of Worcestershire sauce. I added finely chopped green bell pepper and orange bell pepper; they added a nice touch of color. Following the suggestion of one reviewer I only added 1 tablespoon of brown sugar instead of 2 tablespoons. I'm glad I did because the sloppy joes were still slightly sweet but not too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scarborough Fair

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prunedale, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Sloppy Joes II

See how to make an All-American classic!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States