Chef John's Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
This was VERY GOOD! In my opinion some of the reviewers are right in that it tastes too sweet so I just added a twist of the wrist extra splash of Worcestershire Sauce to the pan because the brown sugar & ketchup were all I could taste when I sampled it, once I added more Worcestershire you could taste all the ingredients rather than only brown sugar & ketchup. I doubt my family would enjoy this without the adjustment. What's great about this recipe is most of the ingredients will be on hand and you can substitute bread for pasta and put this on top of buttered noodles (that's always a good next day leftover recipe to change it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie V

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: La Quinta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2015
I used red bell peppers and cut the brown sugar in half. These were a hit with my kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
I can't believe that I am going to suggest changing one of Chef John's recipes, but as is I have to agree with other reviewers that this is too much water. After I let mine simmer for an hour, made Chef John's cottage fries to go with this, there was still a lot of water. I did not want to drain out the flavor or add flour, so I increased the mixture to a high heat and it boiled off in about 8 minutes. When I tried the mix it was too sweet for my family's taste, so I added Frank's hot sauce for a kick and another big squeeze of yellow mustard to combat the sweet taste. My husband loved the result although we discussed using only half of the brown sugar next time. My toddler refused to touch it, but oh well, my husband enjoyed his as well, and my son was enjoying eating the fries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mendon, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
It was very good, made as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya D

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
Husband loves them! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sabrina777

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
BEST BBQ EVER!! I made enough for 4 but my husband and I ate it all that night! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JCS523
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
I love this recipe. It's perfect just the way it is. Thank you! It's what's for dinner tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JCS523

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
It was delicious! I made one change, I used 93% lean turkey. With all the liquid added it cooked more then 45 min, thank goodness I started earlier. Definitely will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
This recipe was great! I will be making them again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Sloppy Joes II

See how to make an All-American classic!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States