Chef John's Shrimp Etouffee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
Excellent! Spice blend was spot on. Made as written. May add some andouille sausage next time only because we love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DebbyJean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2015
Delicious! My husband thought it tasted just like the étouffée we had eaten in New Orleans. Would use a little less hot sauce next time as it was a bit spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
this is so incredibly yummy it tastes amazing it seemed to be really soupy but once I put it over rice that rice just soaked it up and gave it great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
Thank you Chef John for making me look good with my family and friends. I was exceptionally happy with the outcome and I didn't change one thing in this recipe. It was a delight to make one of my favorite meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Oak Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
It was good but not what I expected
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wroclaw, Lower Silesian, Poland
Living In: Glendale Heights, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
My husband can eat this every week. He loves it over rice or polenta......polenta the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
This was fantastic! Really spicy but not sure why with only 1/4 tsp cayenne. I used 3 TB of flour to thicken to my liking. A must have for Mardi Gras! Real keeper, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yoga

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wonder Lake, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rowlett, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Made just like recipe said except used 1 lb shrimp and 1 lb chorizo sausage (store was out of andouille). Fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kgoodwin91

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
The huge list of ingredients is a little scary, but this actually comes together pretty quickly and the steps aren't too involved. The combination of herbs and spices makes for a very well seasoned broth. I don't like green bell peppers, so I used a poblano (as is suggested in the video). Why didn't I think of that before??? I couldn't bring myself to use pre-cooked shrimp, so I substituted raw easy peel. So much better! Very good recipe that scratches the Cajun itch without the huge production a gumbo is. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
Learn from my mistake: Do NOT used Rotel in place of tomatoes plus double the spice! lol Sometimes I should just leave the recipe well enough alone! I usually like plenty of spice and find that a lot of recipes don't have enough, so I put in Rotel instead of regular diced tomatoes, mainly bc the recipe calls for diced green chili pepper (not green pepper!) and I didn't have any of those, so I figured that would be a good substitute! Plus, I doubled the spice recipe. I spent a lot of time trying to fix my mistake by adding more chicken stock and then I had to make a slurry with the chicken stock bc it was then more like soup than a stew by that time! Oh well, it finally turned out and was still good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chef John's Shrimp Etouffee

Discover the tricks to making amazing Creole shrimp with a flavorful gravy.

Chef John’s Deviled Shrimp Ragu

See how to make spicy shrimp ragu served over sweet, creamy corn custard.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States