Chef John's Shrimp and Grits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
Love love love!!! Never been a fan of grits so I was a bit skeptical, but the white cheddar cheese is what sold me on this recipe!! Made no changes except to lower the amount of salt and it turned out perfect, creamy, and oh so yummy!! Thank you chef John, you are a culinary genius!! ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
Another great job, Chef John! This was exactly what I wanted for Shrimp and Grits! I make a Cheese Grits Casserole often and it worked well for this dish, and added the make-ahead benefit! The shrimp and sauce mixture was very tasty, and so good that I will make more sauce next time! Recommend passing the shrimp thru the hot pan quickly, add the veg's, then sauce, then shrimp back to finish. So easy to overcook shrimp! This will be a great brunch dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
Chef John... This recipe is EVERYTHING as is!!!!!!! Thank you for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Becoming a big fan of Chef John. I have always loved shrimp and grits when we go out but never attempted it at home. This is an excellent and easy recipe. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Right up there with what we're used to--New Orleans Shrimp and Grits. I don't keep whipping cream on hand, so I replaced it with 1/2 nonfat plain yogurt and 1/2 unsweetened soy milk. We didn't miss the whipping cream, but it probably would have put this over the top. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SherryL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
I used 4 lbs of shrimps,added more bacon lots of peppers, everyone thought I was a genius and great chef
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Hollywood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
So yummy and so easy. I did not even have all the ingredients (used milk instead of heavy cream) and it still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
I would expect no less than awesome from any Chef John recipe and I was not disappointed. This was EXCELLENT. Perfect amount of spice too. I could have eaten it for dinner every night. Thank you for another amazing recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Indoor BBQ Shrimp

Is this the easiest, most delicious shrimp recipe ever? Possibly.

Chef John’s Deviled Shrimp Ragu

See how to make spicy shrimp ragu served over sweet, creamy corn custard.

Chef John's Shrimp Etouffee

Discover the tricks to making amazing Creole shrimp with a flavorful gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States