Chef John's Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SUZZANNA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
Very easy to make, and tasted great. The potatoes were very creamy and flavorful, even with no butter added. The recipe didn't say when to add the salt and pepper, so I added it to the meat mixture. I also salted the water that I boiled the potatoes in. I wasn't sure what size casserole dish to use, but my 2-quart oval casserole worked perfectly. This is a great recipe for a quick, inexpensive meal. I'd like to try it using ground lamb also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZZANNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
First time making Shepherds Pie and it was a hit. I added about 6 cloves of garlic and 1/4 onion to the meat mixture and used veggie broth instead. I forgot the ketcup which made no difference. After smashig the potatoes I added garlic powder and pepper. The potatoes were so delightful that I make them as a side dish now. There are never any leftovers! Thanks John!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
I did not have any frozen vegetables in my freezer--I improvized. I threw in some chopped onion, chopped fresh zucchini, chopped fresh red pepper, and chopped fresh broccoli to take the place of the frozen vegetables. I also added a teaspoon each of dried oregano and dried basil to the meat/vegetable mixture and I cut back just a touch on the salt. I was able to use my cast iron skillet from beginning to end which I absolutely loved. My husband and two boys really liked this though my kids thought that it could use more cheese and my husband thought it could use more "gravy". Next time, I'll increase both the cheese amounts and "gravy" just a touch. This is absolutely comfort food defined.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
Not found of frozen veggies. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cape Coral, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
Tasty, tasty! I made this with leftover pot roast the I diced. I did add a pinch of celery salt, about 1 tbsp fresh rosemary finely diced, and a shake of oregano. Since I had no drippings from the pot roast, I made a rue of beef broth and flour to thicken up the added beef broth. Very tasty. the boyfriend requested a repeat of this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
Very tasty! I didn't use frozen veggies since I had some from my garden that needed to be used before they went bad, but this was a great and easy recipe. I will definitely be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ashland, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
This shepherds pie turned out awsome, the only thing I changed was to add an extra half cup of beef broth as I like a little more gravy. I love that this recipe uses sour cream instead of cream cheese as this is much easier on my wasteline and my wallet and still very flavorful. Thanks for the great recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
Great recipe, save the drippings and add the flour in the pan, the sour cream, great ideas, very nice. The second time around, I cut the ketchup by a 1/3 and added 2 tablespoons of HP Sauce. Worked for me. Next time, instead, some crushed chilies for a little more heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mackie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Outstanding! The only thing I changed was to add some Worcestershire to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
This Shepherds pie was good but the meat was a bit bland. I added a whole diced onion but next time I would add some garlic and a pinch of cloves to give it more flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Fisherman's Pie

This simple seafood casserole is topped with mashed potatoes.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Chef John's Spinach and Feta Pie

An easy baked omelet that's loaded with spinach and feta cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States