Chef John's Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
Loved it!! Only thing I didn't like was the potatoes tended to be a bit mushy but that might be because I used reds instead of the ones suggested in the recipe. I usually prefer reds but next time I'll try the russets for this recipe. (I've never seen yukon gold at my grocery store). I did follow some suggestions and added onion and garlic to the meat while browning. This was awesome, even my potato hating husband liked it and I used the leftovers for two brown bag lunches for me during the week. Reheats very well. Now on my regular rotation, thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
mmm ~ very good Chef! Love it, will make again! Of course I added a bit of my own tweaks like cayenne pepper, onion salt, garlic salt, pepper, thyme, Worchestershire, & celery seed to bump up the meat mixture a bit, also used as much beef broth as I saw fit- I didn't measure. I used frozen vegies as recommended and a can of cream corn. Oh and lots of CHEESE! This was the best shepherds pie recipe I have ever found! Thank You & keep these wonderful recipes coming!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Maltais

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Easy to make, yummy to eat! Doesn't get better than that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
i have tried it today and it was excellent….I just love extra calories so I added more butter to my potatoes and that's it!!! TQ chef!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Stone
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
If you want a lovely shepherd's pie recipe this is it! So fast to make, but if you want it even tastier, use Italian sausage in place of the ground beef!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
I'm not sure if I've reviewed this recipe or not, but if I did, it's so yummy, it deserves TWO 5 star ratings! My husband is of Irish descent and I love to make Irish food whenever I can. I stumbled upon this recipe when I was looking for a good Irish dish to make that we haven't tried yet. I have to say that this was so very drool worthy! I did add a few things to the mashed potatoes to make them creamier, like milk, but that's the only thing I changed. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
Really loved this recipe and its a big hit with friends and family. I divide it into individual mini pie plates and then this dish also makes great heat and eat for busy weeks or empty nesters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
I liked this and so did my family. I will make this again but I have to admit I will use less veggie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
This is a no-nonsense Shepherd's Pie that makes me love it even more. It's a perfect comfort-food dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Had great hopes, made it with ground lamb. Very mediocre - the ground meat could have used alot more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Fisherman's Pie

This simple seafood casserole is topped with mashed potatoes.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States