Chef John's Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Sarah Stone
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
If you want a lovely shepherd's pie recipe this is it! So fast to make, but if you want it even tastier, use Italian sausage in place of the ground beef!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
I'm not sure if I've reviewed this recipe or not, but if I did, it's so yummy, it deserves TWO 5 star ratings! My husband is of Irish descent and I love to make Irish food whenever I can. I stumbled upon this recipe when I was looking for a good Irish dish to make that we haven't tried yet. I have to say that this was so very drool worthy! I did add a few things to the mashed potatoes to make them creamier, like milk, but that's the only thing I changed. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
Really loved this recipe and its a big hit with friends and family. I divide it into individual mini pie plates and then this dish also makes great heat and eat for busy weeks or empty nesters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
I liked this and so did my family. I will make this again but I have to admit I will use less veggie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
This is a no-nonsense Shepherd's Pie that makes me love it even more. It's a perfect comfort-food dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Had great hopes, made it with ground lamb. Very mediocre - the ground meat could have used alot more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
This was a great recipe (as are all of Chef John's)! I made a few additions and took some tips from other reviewers. First, I wanted it to be a more traditional Shepherd's Pie, so I used ground Lamb instead of beef. I diced 1/4 cup onion and 1/2 cup mushrooms and cooked it in with the Lamb as I was browning it. After the meet was finished, I added in a pinch of Thyme, Paprika, and a dash of Worcestershire sauce. I then continued with the original recipe. The last thing I did, after the dish was finished baking, I placed it under the broiler for a few minutes to make the cheese on top get nice and crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefsDaughter143

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Delicious; I reduced the frozen veggies and added some chopped carrots and Worcestershire sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Eastcott

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Whitby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
This was a nice recipe that my husband liked too. I think next time we will try it with lamb. We used mixed fresh vegetables that we sauteed in butter. Our mixed vegetables were garlic, spoon-sized onions, baby carrots, chopped celery, and mushrooms. In the ground beef we used a dash of garlic powder and worcestershire sauce. Once the beef and vegetables were in the pan, I used a half can of cream of celery soup (and a little water) to spinkle over the beef and vegetables to keep the pie from being too dry. We used lebnah in the mashed potatoes as we were unable to find sour cream. We sprinkled sharp cheddar cheese on top and ate the meal with a hearty wheat bread and some fresh garden rocket. Will make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shadya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Doha, Ad Dawhah, Qatar
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
Its a keeper! Its a perfect way of using up leftover mashed potatoes, so that makes it even easier to make. I happened to have a 12oz bag of frozen veggies in the freezer (which are perfectly fine to use, despite another reviewers disdain). I followed the Recipe except I sauteed chopped onion and garlic with the meat, and added a little more broth to make more "gravy" as another reviewer noted. I also added a few splashes of Soy Sauce and Worcestershire sauce to add a zip, but it didn't necessarily improve the dish. Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky1234

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Fisherman's Pie

This simple seafood casserole is topped with mashed potatoes.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States