Chef John's Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
I agree with Chato on cooking the rice separately and shrimp needing more time to cook. I used a cup of white, uncooked rice instead of brown, and cooked it separately on its own. That way you only need to add a cup to cup and a half of chicken stock to the jambalaya (I used chicken broth). I also let the shrimp cook with the rest of ingredients for 10 minutes rather than 5, that way the texture of the shrimp feels more done. I scoop the rice in a bowl and top it with the jambalaya for each serving portion. I find that if I add all the rice to entire jambalaya pot, it get's too mushy when you re-heat left overs. I also added about half a can of corn, and it added a nice flavor and texture. Other than that, great dish and just the right amount of spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
Made this for 70 seniors and they all want the recipe! Delicious! Trader Joes had the Andoulle sausage and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
This recipe was great, it wasn't difficult I had to cook the rice a little longer. My children loved it and they said it was great. januarylin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by janetlswright
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
Used couscous instead of rice, added garlic, red onions and used a bit less cayenne - LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parry Sound, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Bradford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
This is wonderfully spicy and tasty. I cooked Minute Rice separate in the interest of having it done sooner. I didn't have quite enough shrimp, so I diced up chicken breast and added it. I used frozen asparagus pieces in place of green pepper since I have a family member who hates peppers. Added extra celery. I did not add the cayenne pepper because I couldn't find mine, and I honestly felt it would be plenty hot and spicy without it, and it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
This was a great recipe! Made "as is" and it turned out fantastic. Will definitely make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
This is an outstanding recipe for a fairly quick, easy, and delicious jambalaya. Purists may disagree, as this version does not begin by cooking a roux to a nice, deep color; but frankly, it's the time and care that's required to do this step properly that often deters me. I frequently need a quicker approach and, until I tried this recipe, I hadn't found one that still delivered a great, fresh flavor. This one does. I made it according to directions but found that I needed a bit more liquid (I had to add almost a cup of water) to get the rice to a fully tender stage without burning the lot, and yet, the broth that was left was still too thin for my liking. I thickened it with some sliced okra and that worked well. Other than these minor points, it's a really excellent recipe. My family raved about it and dived in for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
I did a "one and a half" on this recipe instead of doubling it. It's absolutely perfect. Just the right amount of spice, flavor, and seasonings. I'm forever adding extra salt to stuff, but not for this recipe. I used Basmati rice, so my cooking time was only about 45 minutes. That was the only "tweak" I made, and I don't see where any others would be necessary either. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsDitzler
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
Just made this tonight and it was an instant hit! My husband loved it! This ones going in our "make again" book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsDitzler

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Stevenson, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
This chili is super flavorful. I was worried it wouldn't have enough heat for my taste but followed the recipe anyway. I didn'have white beans so substituted them with black beans. It was a huge success and my family loved it. I'm also into a colourful presentation and this chili was beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Chef John's Shrimp Etouffee

Discover the tricks to making amazing Creole shrimp with a flavorful gravy.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States