Chef John's Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 1, 2015
This was so fun and day to make. I love how the ingredients are so colorful. I'm a flavor junkie so I'm always adding to a recipe. I've made this twice and it was great the first time but a little bland for my palette. This time, along with the mentioned ingredients, I added :scallops, a table spoon of soy sauce, garlic powder, time, creole seasoning and topped with cheese with sweet Cornbread on the side..... I COULD HAVE FAINTED IT WAS SOOO GOOD!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
I added chicken and used white rice but it still turned out great! If you want to add chicken just brown it in the butter in the beginning when you brown the sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose Baty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RedCook
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
Although it was quite tasty, it was a pain getting there and the recipe is misleading. I used the brown rice that the recipe called for and at the 45 minute mark the rice was extremely crunchy. I then started to add on cooking time in 10 minute increments until the rice got to a state that was edible. I think in total the rice cooking time took about an hour and a half, double what the recipe called for. By that time the liquid had been absorbed and the dish was a tasty stew. The shrimp cooked quickly thereafter. I also ended up using 12 ounces of sausage (3 sausages).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
Family asking for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
Didn't have the brown rice, so just served it over white rice. Also added a bit of minced garlic with the onion. Very, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Vicki Campbell Yates
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
This recipe was great and easy to modify to our taste. I added jalapeño, carrots, and chicken. I also used white rice for my husband's taste and used 29 oz of diced tomatoes. I used 1.5 cups of rice as well. This recipe was delicious. We served it over corn cakes because we love corn cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
I have not had Jambalaya this good since my last time in New Orleans . I did it as per the recipe and the results were fantastic . I love it when a plan comes together , now I am off in search of a nice cold beer to finish my day perfectly . Thanks for sharing .you have another fan . Lyle
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tillsonburg, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Delhi, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
This was the best soup ever! I have never made jambalaya and did not have the correct sausage on hand, so I used just plain smoked sausage. Everything else was just perfect!! If the excessive amount of cumin and paprika scare you, it is essential to the integrity of the soup to use it. I put extra hot sauce on the side. What a dish. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
My husband and I liked this. I used turkey sausage, so didn't need to cook it ahead of time. I used about 1.5 TBSP of paprika and 1/8 tsp of cayenne to keep it less spicy for the kids and me. I used a whole can of tomatoes, and left our celery. I omit salt (as always) but did sprinkle some celery salt. I had about 5 c of chx stock, so I went ahead and added 1.5 c of rice. I could have added more. I tossed the sausage in with the shrimp at the end. You do definitely have to boil the rice before turning down!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
I can't believe it, I just made jambalaya for the first time in my life! Heck, I just tasted jambalaya for the first time also! Thank you Chef John for the video. It was easy to make, and thanks to the video, I knew how it should look at each step. Hubby loved it!!!! Funny how we came to have it. He called me from work asking if I ever had jambalaya, then he stated that we had sausage, and wondered what else goes into it. Well I knew just where to go, and the rest is history! Who knew?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela G. Harris

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Chef John's Shrimp Etouffee

Discover the tricks to making amazing Creole shrimp with a flavorful gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States