Chef John's Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Delicious!! I pretty much followed the recipe - I may have added a little extra tomatoes. I used chicken andouille sausage without the casing as I don't eat pork. The only change I would suggest is the addition of tabasco sauce as I think the dish was missing a little tang... Super easy and will go into my regular weekday dinner rotation!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
Chef John is my new hero. Followed Cindy18lou's suggestion of low sodium broth, but otherwise followed the recipe. Doubled easily to make for a large group and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
I love this one a lot. It's one of my favorite :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Svetik
Living In: Stockton, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
Very good, this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
I made this dish for my bday party and everyone loved it! I made enough for about 40 people, and the entire dish was gone ;) My friends are still talking about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
This was fantastic!! I have made it at least 4 times for different groups and its always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by burlap_sack
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
this recipe is so easy and delicious. almost all of the ingredients were ones that i already had in the kitchen. i had some leftover chicken that i shredded up and threw in the pot and some extra keilbasa from a beer-tasting party i hosted. all i needed to get was a green pepper from the store. i also used leftover cooked rice and the jambalaya was ready in half the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
I love me some Chef John. This was a really great recipe; I just modified it a bit based on taste preference and ingredient availability. Instead of butter I just used olive oil, and since I couldn't find Andouille, I just bought a different smoked sausage. I added some hot sauce for a bit of extra heat, I used a large can of diced tomates, I used two green peppers instead of one, I used wild rice instead of brown, and I used chicken instead of shrimp. Tasted quite delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShaunaD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
The best jambalaya I have had. 5 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
This was excellent. I left out the shrimp and used poblano peppers instead of bell peppers. Also added extra fresh tomatoes, celery, plus one shredded carrot. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Chef John's Shrimp Etouffee

Discover the tricks to making amazing Creole shrimp with a flavorful gravy.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States