Chef John's Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
I added a chicken breast that I browned along with the sausage. Also added some garlic and used the canned tomato/green chiles that others mentioned. It made lots and can't wait for leftovers. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
I loved the flavor, I used tomatoes with green chillies. Also used 2# of shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Oh my, this was wonderful!! I added some chopped garlic when I was browning the sausage (cuz I think garlic should be in everything), and some sweet onion to the rest of the vegies and it turned out great! This is a delicious recipe that can be tweaked to appeal to many tastes, I will definately be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Loved this recipe! It was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
This is seasoned perfectly. No need to adjust anything in this recipe. However using what I had on hand I used 1 white onion and white rice instead of green onion and brown rice. I cooked for only 20 min after adding the rice so to not overcook it. It really would be even better with the brown rice, heartier. I thought for sure that there was too much water in this recipe but it really is great the way it is. Tip: simmer the shrimp shell/tail in your stock and strain for added flavor. My husband raved after every bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Followed the recipe exactly. By 45 minutes the rice was still crunchy. I even let it come to a boil before turning down to simmer. I let everything but the shrimp cook for a total of and hour and a 1/2, at least and the rice finally softened up. I recommend leaving out half the veggies till half the cooking time is past, so you get a little crunch from the peppers. I might even reduce the broth to 2 1/2 cups to make it closer to actual jambalaya, without letting it simmer for hours. I will use this recipe again, but with some changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prettysoldier

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Prescott, Arizona, USA
Living In: Fort Belvoir, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Made this recipe last night and the family LOVED it. I made a few changes just based on personal tastes and what I had on hand. -I used sweet Italian sausage instead of Andouille because I had some leftover in the freezer -I used 1 chicken breast, cubed, since my husband doesnt care for shrimp -used about 2 1/2 cups brown minute rice -used 1 full can of petite diced tomatoes -Used 1 medium sweet onion instead of green Other than those basic changes, I left the recipe as is and was pleasantly surprised. I added some cajun seasoning to my portion (family doesnt like spicy, I do) but it had the perfect stew-like consistancy and flavor. I liked being able to do it all in one pot. The kitchen smelled wonderful too! Definitely a make-again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
Great recipe. My family loved it and my foodie husband said it was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Amazing flavor! The perfect mix of heat and sweet; salty and spicy. The only change I made was using white rice. I didn't have brown on-hand, and it turned out wonderful. It took 35 minutes with the white rice and the shrimp were perfect in the 5 minutes suggested. Love Chef John's recipes and videos...and this is one of my favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
Fantastic! Made some changes to vegetarianize the dish: used Gimme Lean "sausage" instead of andouille; used kale instead of peppers, added 1.5 cups brown rice; 3 cups vegetable stock; 1 cup tomato; and added red beans last 10 minutes instead of shrimp. My husband (major meat eater) LOVED this dish! Everything other ingredient and measurement was the same. When eating leftovers, added 1/3 avacado, diced--amazing. Thank you Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Chef John's Shrimp Etouffee

Discover the tricks to making amazing Creole shrimp with a flavorful gravy.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States