Chef John's Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 12, 2013
FANTASTIC ! I liked it with the brown rice. The only change I made was I used Spicy Italian Sausage that I had in the freezer left over from A SAUSAGE, PEPPER AND ONION dish I cooked. I also added 1 cup of OKRA cut in 1/4 inch pieces. Definitely will cook this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 46Gators

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 8, 2013
it was a good receipe ez to make will add some of my own ingriediants next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2013
If you like HOT food you might LOVE this as written, but it was WAY too spicy-hot for us and I only used 1/4 tsp of cayenne and smoked sausage, not hot andouille. I added a squirt of tomato paste from a tube and a minced clove of garlic and it added that "something" I felt the flavor was lacking. My rice got too well done, I think it would be better to cook it seperately and add at the end or something..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
Well, i looked at more than one recipe- this one seemed to be key w/ ingredients... But i also followed advice of other reviewers. Came out WONDERFUL... with a few adjustments... First- ADD GARLIC! 1-2 cloves minced is perfect. I did use white rice as a preference in taste & time- minute rice added (cooked) in when adding shrimp is perfect!! Can't really place brown rice on this one- jumbalaya is a more hearty dish & brown instead of white rice makes me feel it would not fit well. Due to spice preferences- i also added a wee bit more cayenne & pepper. Adjustments to the salt are definitely as stated! Adjust salt & peppers to taste! You don't want a salty dish (the sausage has enough salt) and you dont want a dish too spicy to eat! Adjust everything to preference. That is key to a great recipe like this. Thanks to Chef John! This is a keeper- just needs adaptation for each cook's preferences. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelinamarie3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmer, Alaska, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
I love love LOVE this recipe!! I have made this at least 5 times now. I have a no salt Cajun seasoning that I use along with low sodium chicken broth. The first time I made it, it was too salty. And the brown rice is best, I love the nutty flavor it gives and I love the texture. I used white rice in a pinch once, and I didn't care for it. Oh, and once everything is in the pot, bring to a boil before simmering. Otherwise you are looking more at 1-2 hours of cook time... Update: This base works great too when you have other meats you need to use up. My favorite is using leftovers after baking a ham. Very good recipe, and can be modified in a myriad of ways and still taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmberT

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
Yum!! This was very good. The whole family loved it. I will make this often. It was so easy to make and tasted wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
This was a very flavorful dish. Mad my own shrimp stock with the shells, and used it in place of the chicken stock. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
Only change I made was to add 1-1/2 chicken breasts at the beginning - added to butter a couple minutes before adding sausage. This was delicious and will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Velgos

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orland Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by traceyposner
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
What can I say? Another hit from Chef John! This one I made as written with the only exception being the use of white rice as that's what I had on hand. I wouldn't change a thing with this recipe! I used Johnsonville's Andouille sausage. Delicious! Thanks again Chef John for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traceyposner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
Great recipe! Cooked as written, except used canned petite tomatoes instead of fresh. Next time, adding chicken and a can of rotel tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Chef John's Shrimp Etouffee

Discover the tricks to making amazing Creole shrimp with a flavorful gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States