Chef John's Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
This recipe is the BEST. Added just a bit more cayenne for that extra kick and more meat( hubby is a carnivore..lol) and it was wonderful. Will definitely repeat this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VirgoGurl0921
Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Oh_boy_T
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
Such a wonderful, quick and easy meal. So glad I found this recipe. My girlfriend was really impressed. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oh_boy_T

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
Excellent flavor! Might be too spicy for some - but a perfect combination of flavor and spice for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
I used chicken instead of shrimp, no celery, white rice and a 10 oz can rotel tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaWI
Reviewed: May 15, 2013
The recipe was made as written except turkey sausage was used and hot sauce instead of red pepper. EXCELLENT! We will be making this again. Easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jazzy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stow, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
FANTASTIC ! I liked it with the brown rice. The only change I made was I used Spicy Italian Sausage that I had in the freezer left over from A SAUSAGE, PEPPER AND ONION dish I cooked. I also added 1 cup of OKRA cut in 1/4 inch pieces. Definitely will cook this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 46Gators

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 8, 2013
it was a good receipe ez to make will add some of my own ingriediants next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2013
If you like HOT food you might LOVE this as written, but it was WAY too spicy-hot for us and I only used 1/4 tsp of cayenne and smoked sausage, not hot andouille. I added a squirt of tomato paste from a tube and a minced clove of garlic and it added that "something" I felt the flavor was lacking. My rice got too well done, I think it would be better to cook it seperately and add at the end or something..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
Well, i looked at more than one recipe- this one seemed to be key w/ ingredients... But i also followed advice of other reviewers. Came out WONDERFUL... with a few adjustments... First- ADD GARLIC! 1-2 cloves minced is perfect. I did use white rice as a preference in taste & time- minute rice added (cooked) in when adding shrimp is perfect!! Can't really place brown rice on this one- jumbalaya is a more hearty dish & brown instead of white rice makes me feel it would not fit well. Due to spice preferences- i also added a wee bit more cayenne & pepper. Adjustments to the salt are definitely as stated! Adjust salt & peppers to taste! You don't want a salty dish (the sausage has enough salt) and you dont want a dish too spicy to eat! Adjust everything to preference. That is key to a great recipe like this. Thanks to Chef John! This is a keeper- just needs adaptation for each cook's preferences. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelinamarie3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmer, Alaska, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
I love love LOVE this recipe!! I have made this at least 5 times now. I have a no salt Cajun seasoning that I use along with low sodium chicken broth. The first time I made it, it was too salty. And the brown rice is best, I love the nutty flavor it gives and I love the texture. I used white rice in a pinch once, and I didn't care for it. Oh, and once everything is in the pot, bring to a boil before simmering. Otherwise you are looking more at 1-2 hours of cook time... Update: This base works great too when you have other meats you need to use up. My favorite is using leftovers after baking a ham. Very good recipe, and can be modified in a myriad of ways and still taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmberT

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 51-60 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Chef John's Shrimp Etouffee

Discover the tricks to making amazing Creole shrimp with a flavorful gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States