Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2015
Didn't get as crisp as I would have liked, but had great flavor. Very easy but takes a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
The chicken was very well cooked & juicy, but 3 tbs salt was over the top. Also, my oven was a mess from splattering chicken - used a cast iron skillet. Got to go - cleaning my oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
I made this exactly as directed, using a 4 1/2 pound chicken. I set the timer for 70 minutes and it was well over the desired temperature when I took it out of the oven. It was so moist and tender, but a little too salty for me. The skin is crisp and brown but don't eat it. The salt keeps the meat moist. I did not need any additional salt in the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
I've made this several times. The whole family loves it. Per the instructions in the video, I substitute white wine for the lemon. Mmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie Clare
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
I gave it 5 stars for the taste and moistness of the chicken. My hubby even commented on how the breast meat turned out. I did use about 1 Tablespoon of salt; then after the chicken was done cooking, I rested it on a cutting board, knocking off any loose salt. I also did NOT add additional salt to the butter sauce nor any cayenne (personal preference). One note: it made a mess in my oven. Since the temperature is so high, it splattered chicken fat/grease all over. I think maybe loosely tenting the chicken until maybe the last 15 minutes, then take off the foil to finish browning good?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moira Funk

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
Chef John does it again! I was skeptical about just adding salt to the chicken before roasting, but I followed others' advice and the result was AMAZING! The chicken alone was moist and juicy, but the sauce...that put it over the top. Will definitely be adding this to my regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gotrr
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
Since discovering this recipe, I don't roast chicken any other way. I do put a little less butter in the sauce than Chef John recommends, but the combination of this dry roasted chicken and the buttery lemon sauce will make you swoon -- especially if the chicken is organic. Just to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
Absolutely amazing, I have made this several times now because it is so yummy!! I also keep 2-3 chickens in the freezer because this meal is always requested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
Yes, yes, and yes! The best white chicken meat we ever ate! I used "Himalayan Natural Crystal Salt" and reduced it to 1.25 tbsp at medium grind since it's much denser than the flaky "Kosher Salt". Chef John, you're a genius. Paired it with a fragrant Pulao and it was the most exciting Tuesday we've had in a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wiggles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
Wonderful recipe. Incredibly juicy chicken! Has anyone found Chef John's recipe for his Roasted Red Pepper and Trout Bean Ragout? I'd love to try that too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Igmarg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Chef John's Chicken Under a Brick

Discover Chef John's unique way to produce a gorgeous, juicy and flavorful bird.

Chef John's Broiled Chicken

See how to make juicy broiled chicken with perfectly crispy skin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States