Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2015
I had problems with the high heat causing the chicken to spatter all over the oven causing it to become very smoky. I used a temp probe that registered 160... Let it rest as stated... Underdone!!! I ended up putting it back in the oven for another 15-20 minutes at 350.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2015
Yes!!!! This was PERFECT. The skin was crispy and flavorful, and the inside was juicy and just perfect. I did have quite the smoke problem cooking it, so I had to open up all of my windows. It was all worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrissyCK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2015
The best roast chicken for those who appreciate cooking from a purist point of view.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2015
Amazing! No salt needed in the final step of the sauce. Just some pepper, and you're good to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
I love this recipe. Reminds me of when my husband and I used to do rotisserie chicks with a tablespoon of salt inside and they were wonderful! The salt worked its way through and permeated the meat. I couldn't do it without the grill/rotisserie until Chef John came up with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2015
Didn't get as crisp as I would have liked, but had great flavor. Very easy but takes a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
The chicken was very well cooked & juicy, but 3 tbs salt was over the top. Also, my oven was a mess from splattering chicken - used a cast iron skillet. Got to go - cleaning my oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
I made this exactly as directed, using a 4 1/2 pound chicken. I set the timer for 70 minutes and it was well over the desired temperature when I took it out of the oven. It was so moist and tender, but a little too salty for me. The skin is crisp and brown but don't eat it. The salt keeps the meat moist. I did not need any additional salt in the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
I've made this several times. The whole family loves it. Per the instructions in the video, I substitute white wine for the lemon. Mmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie Clare
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
I gave it 5 stars for the taste and moistness of the chicken. My hubby even commented on how the breast meat turned out. I did use about 1 Tablespoon of salt; then after the chicken was done cooking, I rested it on a cutting board, knocking off any loose salt. I also did NOT add additional salt to the butter sauce nor any cayenne (personal preference). One note: it made a mess in my oven. Since the temperature is so high, it splattered chicken fat/grease all over. I think maybe loosely tenting the chicken until maybe the last 15 minutes, then take off the foil to finish browning good?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moira Funk

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Chef John's Chicken Under a Brick

Discover Chef John's unique way to produce a gorgeous, juicy and flavorful bird.

Chef John's Broiled Chicken

See how to make juicy broiled chicken with perfectly crispy skin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States