Chef John's Salmon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Great when I first made it but I wasn't a fan when I had it the next day as left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathryn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Nuevo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
I did change the recipe, but in a minor way, my husband hates mustard and not too fond of mayonnaise so I reduced the mayo, left out the mustard and put my own herbal mixture of tarragon, Parsley, thyme and lemon thyme. The point being that what is on the crust is a matter of choice and preference. But so very crucial is the cooking instructions. I had been using a recipe from Alton Brown and my salmon was always over cooked. In season we get amazing local salmon from the Monterey Bay, it is very expensive, fresh daily and precious. To over cook it is a cardinal sin. I just couldn't get it right. Following Chef John's instructions tonight I did get the perfect cook on our salmon fillets. He IS the master! Thank you Chef John!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jetias
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
This dish was perfect. I added fresh basil and and mint to the dish and came out absolutely delicious. Really watch the salmon as it bakes I burnt mine a little. Try this to impress your guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
This is outstanding! The best Salmon I ever ate! My son had fermented some whole lemons and I added some of that and it was off the chain. Fermented lemons are easy and add such flavor to certain dishes, like this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
best there is with tarragon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Used thyme and curly parsley. Instead of Dijon mustard I used regular yellow mustard and a bit of fine white wine vinegar. The salmon came out amazingly good. My husband was never a fan of salmon and mayo ( he prefers the salmon that comes in a tin can ), but now he has definitely changed his mind. He finished all the leftovers ( I just heated them up in a little oven) and I am sure he will be asking for more very soon. Thank you, Chef John, for a wonderful recipe. I will be cooking salmon more often now...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
I made this for my husband and really absolutely loved it! I had some salmon and went on allrecipes and this was the recipe of the day, so I didn't bother to look any further. It was extremely easy to make and cook. He kept asking me what is in it, and said to make salmon this way from now on. Not a lot of clean up, not a lot of work, great tasting fish. win/win/win Definitely try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana Conrad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Woodbridge, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
I wouldn't change a thing. This recipe is AWESOME. I love that you still can taste the fish even after all this herbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
Absolutely Delightful all I had in hand was flat parsley and dried basil still came out completely fantastic!!! I have been a faithful follower of Chef John recipes and they are easy and delicious that now when my husband and 5 year old want something new I just look up chef john recipes they never fail!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mars Carter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Great and easy recipe, throw it all in a mini processor and your ready. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooknwithfire

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brigantine, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's Fresh Salmon Cakes

See how to make quick-and-easy fish cakes with fresh salmon.

Chef John's Baked Lemon Pepper Salmon

Make this healthy dish with your favorite wild salmon.

Chef John's Salmon Cakes

Canned wild salmon is the key to these simple and amazing fish cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States