Chef John's Salmon in Parchment Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by pleasedeleteprofile
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
This was so simple and easy, absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
This was simply the best Chef John. Never tasted Salmon so flavourful and juicy even out the 5* restaurants. I followed your technique precisely. Thank you. ps I enjoy ALL your videos. You ROCK!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
I've made this recipe several times for family & friends and everyone loves it. It's so healthy and easy to do! I always follow a new recipe exactly the first time or two, but the last few times I've made this, I've changed the vegetables: green beans, mushrooms, zucchini, onions or whatever I have. I haven't pre-cooked these vegetables and they cook just fine in the packages. I also added capers for an added zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
I reviewed this about 6 months ago. Tried it again tonight with the following changes. Marinated the salmon for 2 hours in a bourbon glaze. Next I did not boil and blanch the asparagus, just placed it next to the salmon and it turned out great. Omitted the potatoes and had a healthy one pot meal. Served the glaze on the side. (Note: using a tablet, can't figure out how to edit my earlier review.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
This was a tad bland but a very delicious way to cook salmon! I had to watch the video in order to understand how to fold the parchment but it worked wonderfully and the salmon was cooked perfectly. I will probably season it to my own tastes next time though in order to get a little more flavor out of it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Hard to trust it would cook properly without opening the parchment to check, but it turned out perfectly done and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erinmccartan
Home Town: Georgetown, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Absolutely delicious! I had never used parchment paper before, and was a little concerned when my packets didn't puff up like they did in Chef John's video. No worries, though! It was so perfectly moist and flavorful. I decided it do salt, pepper, and Herbes De Provence seasoning. I am sure this is one recipe I will try again and again! Thanks so much Chef John :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
This was an easy dish to make, but it is very impressive. I think it would be nice for a romantic date-night! I made a few substitutions. I didn't have salmon, so I replaced it with tilapia. It is such a basic recipe that almost any fish or poultry would do. I didn't have parchment paper, but foil worked fine. This recipe is easy to prepare, but it does take some time. The results are beautiful and while tasty, they were a little bland. I would definitely suggest seasoning this to your taste. Next time, I'll do a citrus pepper blend. This is a great recipe for the beginning of a fantastic meal, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
Ridiculously easy - absolutely loved this. Will definitely make this one again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Keswick, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
I now love this way of cooking salmon! I followed other people's suggestions and didn't cook the asparagus prior to putting them in the parchment with the other foods and it cooked just perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nelly Felly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Chef John's Fresh Salmon Cakes

See how to make quick-and-easy fish cakes with fresh salmon.

Chef John's Baked Lemon Pepper Salmon

Make this healthy dish with your favorite wild salmon.

Chef John's Salmon Cakes

Canned wild salmon is the key to these simple and amazing fish cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States