Chef John's Salmon in Parchment Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
I thought this was brilliant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ingrid Vida Serra

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
The salmon is amazing in this recipe. I put some fresh herbs, a garlic clove, and a bay leaf in with the salmon. I also put a little pat of butter instead of more olive oil. Perfectly cooked and so moist. Also, would recommend not cooking the asparagus at all before cooking in the parchment. It gets a little over-cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
I am kicking myself for not taking a photo, but when I made this I was really hungry and just wanted to eat :) The video helps a lot and it loops so you can prep with out having to pause it. This technique is my new and only was for cooking salmon now. I have got to be one of the worst people when it comes to cooking fish other then an easy white fish. My husband was actually astonished at how easy and delicious this meal was. I had mine with fresh broccoli and green beans and dropped them in boiling water for 2 min then pulled them out and immediately put them into icy water. Then followed the recipe as told to. I added a little Goya adobo (a Hispanics must in the kitchen), and a little blackened old bay. I then topped it with a little basil, dill and finally a few thinly sliced lemon rounds and a squeeze of juice. I didn't have the stuff to make mustard aioli, so I made my own using 1/2 cup Greek yogurt, 1 Tblspn tzatziki spice mix, 2 large cloves garlic, 1/2 tblspn lemon zest and juice, and then just processed it together. I let it chill in the fridge for a little while and gently dripped some on top after cutting open the parchment packs. Delicious meal! I think next I will try it with a stuffed salmon. :) Thank you Chef John, you have restored my husbands faith in my seafood cooking abilities!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
I just made this tonight and it was great! I was looking for healthy baked or grilled salmon recipes when I came across this. I watched the video and then followed the recipe exactly and it was so easy. I made mine this time with asparagus but I will make this again with other veggies and I'm sure it will be just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Murray, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
This recipe was easy and fantastic! This is only the second time I've ever cooked salmon and I was nervous because the first time I grilled it and it was horrible. I did not add the asparagus or potatoes so I cannot speak to the veggies but I followed all the directions for cooking the fish in the parchment with the exception of adding dill to the salt and pepper just because I really like dill. The fish was cooked perfectly and tasted amazing cooked this way. I never thought I'd eat salmon and enjoy it! Know I know I have what it takes! Thanks, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
No fail recipe for salmon. I coat with olive oil and sprinkle lemon pepper on it. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
Fantastic. We loved it. Cooked exactly as written, minus the miso, as I didn't have any. This will definitely be a go to for salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
I don't like red-meat fish. this looked easy and the wife loves salmon, so I made this. I did add some diced zukes and halved some cherry tomatos. added fresh dill to fish, oregano to maters, and rosemary to taters. sprinkled more evoo and salt / pepper. I ate all of mine...a huge plate. this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Living in Alaska, I've made salmon in 30 different ways, so i was looking for something exciting, new and easy after woking an 11 hour day. I have to say, Chef John nails it! Steaming a fillet for 15 minutes in parchment works like a charm. I coated with avocado oil, used coarse sea salt, a heavy amount of pepper, some old bay, and slices of lemon on some sockeye and threw it in. Then i prepared a homemade caesar salad. The timing couldn't have been better. A gourmet meal in under 30 minutes from start to finish. Add a glass or two of vino, and viola...the perfect meal after a long monday. Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shane Schenker
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
It was so much fun seeing the parchment paper puff up! I discovered the second round that you REALLY need to crease the edges to make it air-tight. Also, you need to overlap each edge almost so that you are re-folding each edge. Use a spoon to crease the edges. My salmon pieces were much larger than Chef John’s so I needed to cook them for 30 minutes. The tiny potatoes and the asparagus were just fine with the extra time. Husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Salmon Mango Bango

See how to make pan-seared salmon with a simple, semi-spicy mango relish.

Chef John's Fresh Salmon Cakes

See how to make quick-and-easy fish cakes with fresh salmon.

Chef John's Baked Lemon Pepper Salmon

Make this healthy dish with your favorite wild salmon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States