Chef John's Salmon in Parchment Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
I reviewed this about 6 months ago. Tried it again tonight with the following changes. Marinated the salmon for 2 hours in a bourbon glaze. Next I did not boil and blanch the asparagus, just placed it next to the salmon and it turned out great. Omitted the potatoes and had a healthy one pot meal. Served the glaze on the side. (Note: using a tablet, can't figure out how to edit my earlier review.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Stirring up Trouble
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
This was so simple and easy, absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
I've made this recipe several times for family & friends and everyone loves it. It's so healthy and easy to do! I always follow a new recipe exactly the first time or two, but the last few times I've made this, I've changed the vegetables: green beans, mushrooms, zucchini, onions or whatever I have. I haven't pre-cooked these vegetables and they cook just fine in the packages. I also added capers for an added zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Living in Alaska, I've made salmon in 30 different ways, so i was looking for something exciting, new and easy after woking an 11 hour day. I have to say, Chef John nails it! Steaming a fillet for 15 minutes in parchment works like a charm. I coated with avocado oil, used coarse sea salt, a heavy amount of pepper, some old bay, and slices of lemon on some sockeye and threw it in. Then i prepared a homemade caesar salad. The timing couldn't have been better. A gourmet meal in under 30 minutes from start to finish. Add a glass or two of vino, and viola...the perfect meal after a long monday. Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shane Schenker
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
It was so much fun seeing the parchment paper puff up! I discovered the second round that you REALLY need to crease the edges to make it air-tight. Also, you need to overlap each edge almost so that you are re-folding each edge. Use a spoon to crease the edges. My salmon pieces were much larger than Chef John’s so I needed to cook them for 30 minutes. The tiny potatoes and the asparagus were just fine with the extra time. Husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
I am kicking myself for not taking a photo, but when I made this I was really hungry and just wanted to eat :) The video helps a lot and it loops so you can prep with out having to pause it. This technique is my new and only was for cooking salmon now. I have got to be one of the worst people when it comes to cooking fish other then an easy white fish. My husband was actually astonished at how easy and delicious this meal was. I had mine with fresh broccoli and green beans and dropped them in boiling water for 2 min then pulled them out and immediately put them into icy water. Then followed the recipe as told to. I added a little Goya adobo (a Hispanics must in the kitchen), and a little blackened old bay. I then topped it with a little basil, dill and finally a few thinly sliced lemon rounds and a squeeze of juice. I didn't have the stuff to make mustard aioli, so I made my own using 1/2 cup Greek yogurt, 1 Tblspn tzatziki spice mix, 2 large cloves garlic, 1/2 tblspn lemon zest and juice, and then just processed it together. I let it chill in the fridge for a little while and gently dripped some on top after cutting open the parchment packs. Delicious meal! I think next I will try it with a stuffed salmon. :) Thank you Chef John, you have restored my husbands faith in my seafood cooking abilities!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
I don't like red-meat fish. this looked easy and the wife loves salmon, so I made this. I did add some diced zukes and halved some cherry tomatos. added fresh dill to fish, oregano to maters, and rosemary to taters. sprinkled more evoo and salt / pepper. I ate all of mine...a huge plate. this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
Ridiculously easy - absolutely loved this. Will definitely make this one again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Keswick, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
Too many potatoes to fit in parchment! Doubled the asparagus & sprinkled salmon with dill, sea salt, & lemon pepper. Will add cut up grape tomatoes next time. Turned out perfect. I'm cooking my salmon in parchment from now on! This was a complete meal. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Hard to trust it would cook properly without opening the parchment to check, but it turned out perfectly done and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erinmccartan
Home Town: Georgetown, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Salmon Mango Bango

See how to make pan-seared salmon with a simple, semi-spicy mango relish.

Chef John's Fresh Salmon Cakes

See how to make quick-and-easy fish cakes with fresh salmon.

Chef John's Baked Lemon Pepper Salmon

Make this healthy dish with your favorite wild salmon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States