Chef John's Salmon in Parchment Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
I reviewed this about 6 months ago. Tried it again tonight with the following changes. Marinated the salmon for 2 hours in a bourbon glaze. Next I did not boil and blanch the asparagus, just placed it next to the salmon and it turned out great. Omitted the potatoes and had a healthy one pot meal. Served the glaze on the side. (Note: using a tablet, can't figure out how to edit my earlier review.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pleasedeleteprofile
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
This was so simple and easy, absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
I've made this recipe several times for family & friends and everyone loves it. It's so healthy and easy to do! I always follow a new recipe exactly the first time or two, but the last few times I've made this, I've changed the vegetables: green beans, mushrooms, zucchini, onions or whatever I have. I haven't pre-cooked these vegetables and they cook just fine in the packages. I also added capers for an added zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Living in Alaska, I've made salmon in 30 different ways, so i was looking for something exciting, new and easy after woking an 11 hour day. I have to say, Chef John nails it! Steaming a fillet for 15 minutes in parchment works like a charm. I coated with avocado oil, used coarse sea salt, a heavy amount of pepper, some old bay, and slices of lemon on some sockeye and threw it in. Then i prepared a homemade caesar salad. The timing couldn't have been better. A gourmet meal in under 30 minutes from start to finish. Add a glass or two of vino, and viola...the perfect meal after a long monday. Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
Ridiculously easy - absolutely loved this. Will definitely make this one again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Keswick, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
It was so much fun seeing the parchment paper puff up! I discovered the second round that you REALLY need to crease the edges to make it air-tight. Also, you need to overlap each edge almost so that you are re-folding each edge. Use a spoon to crease the edges. My salmon pieces were much larger than Chef John’s so I needed to cook them for 30 minutes. The tiny potatoes and the asparagus were just fine with the extra time. Husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Hard to trust it would cook properly without opening the parchment to check, but it turned out perfectly done and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erinmccartan
Home Town: Georgetown, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
This was simply the best Chef John. Never tasted Salmon so flavourful and juicy even out the 5* restaurants. I followed your technique precisely. Thank you. ps I enjoy ALL your videos. You ROCK!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
Too many potatoes to fit in parchment! Doubled the asparagus & sprinkled salmon with dill, sea salt, & lemon pepper. Will add cut up grape tomatoes next time. Turned out perfect. I'm cooking my salmon in parchment from now on! This was a complete meal. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
This was a tad bland but a very delicious way to cook salmon! I had to watch the video in order to understand how to fold the parchment but it worked wonderfully and the salmon was cooked perfectly. I will probably season it to my own tastes next time though in order to get a little more flavor out of it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Baked Lemon Pepper Salmon

Make this healthy dish with your favorite wild salmon.

Chef John's Salmon Cakes

Canned wild salmon is the key to these simple and amazing fish cakes.

How to Make Salmon in Parchment

See how to make a moist salmon fillet baked in parchment paper.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States