Chef John's Salmon Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
My pregnant daughter-in-law devoured these. They were yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
Yummy! Because of what was on hand, used yogurt to replace one of the eggs; breadcrumbs in place of saltines (1/2 cup) and panko in place of breadcrumbs for crisping. Love spicy, but for DH's sake will use half the amount next time. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grampnana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
Loved them and sent two to my neighbors. They were demolished! A hit with everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
This was delicious. I didn't do the breaking and didn't miss it. Had it the first night with roasted nuggets potatoes and kale salad. The leftovers as burgers. Easy , Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gwenn Cutler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Just made and ate this. Excellent. I used wild salmon that I canned myself, otherwise followed the recipe. I might add a little more lemon, but maybe not - I did add a little too much cayenne because it was the last in the jar and I like spicy anyway :) Thanks again, Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: 100 Mile House, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
I have made this recipe several times and it is a definite keeper for me. My husband and I really love the taste of these salmon cakes. I know it seems too wet with when you first mix it, but even leaving it in the fridge for just 30 minutes, it definatly holds together enough to make a good firm cake. I didn't have capers the first time I tried it--but I like it better now that I have made gotten capers and add them. I have used crushed townhouse crackers when I didn't have saltines and also subbed Old Bay for the cayenne last time. There wasn't much difference in taste with either of those subs. I do use cornmeal fish breading (because I have some open) instead of the bread crumbs for the breading. Last time, I made them into mini-cakes for an appetizer to bring to a party and they were well-received. I serve them with the lemon sauce for fish cakes from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Eimann Coleman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enfield, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Chalfont, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
This was REyALLY good. Even my picky eater son loved it. Definitely going to make this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
We tried this last night and it was delicious. Will definitely be a 'keeper' recipe for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
My Mom fixed salmon patties and I use her recipe which is quite similar to this one. Only difference is I use 1 egg and 1/4 cup milk instead of 2 eggs. I also use 1/2 cup all purpose flour instead of bread crumbs which makes them very crunchy on the outside and soft inside. Celery seed is also a great addition for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
Great recipe. I changed it up a little. I used Garlic Croutons and Tony Chachere's BOLD Creole Seasoning. Wonderful flavor, and then topped with homemade tartar sauce from Mayo, lemon juice, Apple Cider Vinegar and ChowChow canned from yellow squash. WOW...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark S. Leathers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Fresh Salmon Cakes

See how to make quick-and-easy fish cakes with fresh salmon.

Chef John's Salmon Cakes

Canned wild salmon is the key to these simple and amazing fish cakes.

Chef John's Salmon Mango Bango

See how to make pan-seared salmon with a simple, semi-spicy mango relish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States