Chef John's Roasted Brussels Sprouts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Like the recipe but too many steps. No need to skillet saute. Boil them then coat with butter then roast in oven. The oven will do the browning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
I'm a big fan of Brussels sprouts when I eat out so I wanted to see if I could create the same taste and texture at home. As usual, chef john's version didn't disappoint -- easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Absolutely loved it. I just left em in the oven longer because I like the taste of it when they're more browned. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Switchblade
Home Town: Laredo, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Holy cow. My childhood experience with sprouts was traumatizing. I'm really glad I tried this. I only had a "garlic and herb" butter available in my fridge, but it turned out to be a nice addition. Thanks, Chef John. Another great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
This is a fantastic recipe. I wondered about all the steps until I put my cast iron skillet in the oven and heard the sizzling happening right away. They came out nicely browned and so yummy! Thank you for an awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
Only 3 out of 9 at our picnic that like Brussel sprouts, but all 3 of us agree this is the best we ever ate. Made them exactly as the recipe. Can't wait to buy more fresh Brussel sprouts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
Wow. That's all I can say. If you don't like brussels sprouts, you'll like these- no kidding. :) Wow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jonesborough, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
How do I rate a recipe for Brussels sprouts? I tried this recipe because like another reviewer, my childhood experience with them was traumatizing and after fifty-seven years, now that I'm all grown up, time to try again. At seven, I felt betrayed by Brussels sprouts. I was told that we are having Brussels sprouts and they were one of my Grandma's favorites. Then they arrived at the table looking like cute miniature cabbages. What's not to like? Well you know what happened!!! One bite, one bitter, probably over-boiled bite. LOL. I made this per the recipe except that I steamed the sprouts and shallots (couldn't find the cipollinis) in the skillet instead of boiling each separately, drained, put the skillet back on the burner for a few seconds to evaporate any water left in the bottom of the pan, added the butter, and proceeded per the recipe. I can safely say that they were the best Brussels sprouts I've ever eaten = ) I am giving five stars; I think this is a great recipe and method for cooking these little gems...but not sure I'm a convert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thisni Caza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
Made this for Easter dinner last night and have to tell you Chef John, these are amazing. My husband and I love brussel sprouts and I usually steam them but with the quick boiling and putting them in cold water really made them firm when you fried them. I don't know what cipollini onions are so I used pearl onions. I did not put them in the oven as I had too much other stuff in there. I drizzled fresh lemon juice just before serving...amazing thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
Like others I had brussel sprouts in restaurants and they tasted fine. The onions separate this recipe from the rest. I didn't have the cipollini onions--just some pearl onions frozen. I took some other reviewer's suggestion (from another brus sprts recipe) and just steamed the veggies first. In my case also because I was using frozen onions. I liked mine 'greasy'. But I eat 90% paleo-style and extra fat is not an issue as I'm very healthy. Today I'm using a regular yellow onion and will update on the results some other time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make roasted Brussels sprouts and cipollini onions.

Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make a simple, healthy veggie side dish.

Duck Fat-Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make easy Brussels sprouts roasted with duck fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States