Chef John's Roasted Brussels Sprouts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Wonderful! Yes, lots of steps, but easy, simple steps to follow while you're preparing the main dish. I used pearl onions, which are already perfectly bite-sized. I personally was never a fan of this veggie, and have only recently tried them "steamed in a bag", but buying them fresh (which I usually do with all my vegetables) and trying this recipe was totally worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
This is a fantastic recipe. I wondered about all the steps until I put my cast iron skillet in the oven and heard the sizzling happening right away. They came out nicely browned and so yummy! Thank you for an awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
Only 3 out of 9 at our picnic that like Brussel sprouts, but all 3 of us agree this is the best we ever ate. Made them exactly as the recipe. Can't wait to buy more fresh Brussel sprouts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
Yum! I've always loved Brussels sprouts; they're one of my fav's! This was delicious. However, I couldn't get the non-eaters to even try it. Boo! They totally missed out. They were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GySgtVsWife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
I had boiled Brussels sprouts once as a kid and hated them. I decided to give them another go, roasted this time, and these were fantastic! I added a sprinkle of garlic powder to mine. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairmont, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
Wow. That's all I can say. If you don't like brussels sprouts, you'll like these- no kidding. :) Wow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jonesborough, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
Made this for Easter dinner last night and have to tell you Chef John, these are amazing. My husband and I love brussel sprouts and I usually steam them but with the quick boiling and putting them in cold water really made them firm when you fried them. I don't know what cipollini onions are so I used pearl onions. I did not put them in the oven as I had too much other stuff in there. I drizzled fresh lemon juice just before serving...amazing thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
Like others I had brussel sprouts in restaurants and they tasted fine. The onions separate this recipe from the rest. I didn't have the cipollini onions--just some pearl onions frozen. I took some other reviewer's suggestion (from another brus sprts recipe) and just steamed the veggies first. In my case also because I was using frozen onions. I liked mine 'greasy'. But I eat 90% paleo-style and extra fat is not an issue as I'm very healthy. Today I'm using a regular yellow onion and will update on the results some other time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Absolutely loved it. I just left em in the oven longer because I like the taste of it when they're more browned. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Switchblade
Home Town: Laredo, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make roasted Brussels sprouts and cipollini onions.

Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make a simple, healthy veggie side dish.

Duck Fat-Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make easy Brussels sprouts roasted with duck fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States