Chef John's Roast Turkey and Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
Just like John said...I was too afraid to cook a turkey, I was chicken! I have now cooked this at least 5 times and it is outstanding! Don't even bother reading any other recipes, this is the one. Several times I have stuffed my turkey with stuffing while following this recipe and it still comes out flawless. Chef John is the best! Happy Holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JasTon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
Outstanding but used more that the 2 Tbs of butter mixture under the skin. That's the trick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Fantastic! This was my first roast turkey and it came out amazing. Like all recipes I tweaked a bit to suit my tastes, but it was so moist and flavorful. I am on a low sodium diet, so I cut down on some of the salt, but it was still fantastic. My wife said it was the best turkey she's ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Vio
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Sooo juicy!! Thanks for an awesome KISS recipe! I can't believe my first turkey ever came out sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
The turkey came out moist and had nice flavor. Nothing spectacular, but it tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OZBOZ79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corning, Iowa, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
Loved it! I will definatly use this again and again. As a matter of fact I've already done the same thing to a whole roaster chicken and it was great too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JSTWINKLE5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
I made and loved it. My family said it was the best! Lots of flavor and very juicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
It was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Selina Novasio Barone

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Here's another thumbs up for this recipe and Chef John! This was very easy and the turkey was perfect, very moist and great flavors. Slow roasting is the key - and butter, of course - lots of butter. The foil shield for the first couple of hours was also a big help. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
This was my first turkey EVER and it was so very moist and delicious. I don't usually like turkey and avoided making it for years and years (purchased, did other forms of poultry, skipped the holiday table and went to the beach). But, when my in-laws decided that my house was the house, I turned to Chef John and we delivered! I never used so much butter in my life - but it make the difference. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

How to Prep and Roast Turkey

Watch a very simple method for prepping and roasting turkey.

Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Save your sanity on Thanksgiving Day by making rich turkey gravy in advance!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States