Chef John's Ricotta Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2015
Omg. SO good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
Wow. Made these using ground turkey and boy were they moist and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2015
I followed the recipe except baked the meatballs at 425 degrees for 15-20 min. Worked great! Next time I might add a little more garlic to up the flavor. Overall, great meatball recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2015
WOW! This a great meatball recipe! I pretty much kept it to the original with the following "personalizations": I used 1/2 of a Vidalia onion, 2 fresh garlic cloves (didn't want it to be over-powering), 1 tsp of basil, 1 T died parsley flakes, 2 "pinches" of cayenne pepper, less salt, and for the bread crumbs I used a mixture of seasoned panko and plain whole wheat crumbs. I basically "eye-balled" the amount of ricotta cheese - figuring 1 container full was 15 oz, so I used approx half a container. Being a tad impatient, I didn't pre-beat the whole egg, just cracked it right into the meat/cheese mixture and folded it in, then folded in the bread crumbs. The mixture smelled good, but looked a little pale before I cooked it. I hand-rolled them, and ended up with 32 balls. To brown them, I used a cast-iron skillet with the olive oil in it. I felt the balls held together pretty well - although after turning them over to brown on all sides, they didn't exactly appear "ball shaped" entirely anymore - but that's fine because they tasted AWESOME! I don't even really like meatballs, but these have reformed me. I used a jarred marinara, did not add water to it (did not want it too thin), baked some sweet Italian sausages in a dutch oven, cut them into the same size as the meatballs, added to the sauce and meatballs, and served over pasta. Well done Chef John! A++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: May 25, 2015
Great meatballs with a lovely soft texture! Changes I made: 1. I used dried parsley (1 Tbs.), basil (1 Tbs.) and ground marjoram (1/2 tsp.) because my own herb plants have not yet matured enough to harvest them and I wasn't about to go out and buy fresh when, I felt, the dried are absolutely fine in this recipe; 2. I added about 1/4 cup of grated Parmesan to the meatball mixture because I cannot fathom meatballs without it; and 3. I baked my meatballs in a preheated 350 degree oven (baking sheet lined with parchment) for 25 minutes, turning the balls once halfway through baking. I simmered them in my favorite commercial marinara for the better part of the afternoon and served them over perciatelli pasta and with homemade garlic toast for dinner tonight (the leftovers will be used for meatball subs a little later this week). My only beef is that although there was a pinch of cayenne pepper in the mixture, I could not detect any heat in the meatballs. The next time I make these, and I will, I will add a good two pinches of cayenne. Bravo, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2015
Very yummy! I am a novice cook and these meatballs were so simple to make. I followed what a previous reviewer said about baking them and I only lost one meatball out of about 30 to crumbles! I also made my own spaghetti sauce that complimented these well. The only suggestion I have is to cut back on the onions a bit. I had a very strong onion flavor between my sauce and my meatballs and instead of using a whole onion, I may just use half or 3/4. All in all, a fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2015
They were good but not anything super special. But I'll take the idea of adding ricotta to my regular meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2015
I made this with no changes except using chicken instead of beef (health thing). I fried 2 to test and found it to have a good texture but way too bland for our taste. I added more cayenne, red pepper flakes, basil, thyme, oregon, mustard powder, and some grated romano. I baked rather than fried and they were excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
I made about 30 meatballs with this recipe. Delicious. I started by attempting to fry them. When I saw that they were too delicate for that (yes, I only used 1 cup of ricotta), I transferred them to a lined cookie sheet and baked them at 375 degrees for about 30 minutes. They were nicely browned. I put them in a pot and added 2 jars of marinara, simmering for about 45 minutes. Very tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
Loved these meatballs ! The only change I would make is to cut back on the salt.They were a bit too salty for my taste.Delicious meatballs.Ihis is a keeper!___Victora
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Ricotta Meatballs

See how to turn regular beef meatballs into a ricotta-filled sensation.

Chef John's Ricotta Pie

See how to make a lighter, less sweet version of cheesecake.

Chef John's Savory Ricotta Tart

A super-simple savory tart loaded with herby, cheesy flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States