Chef John's Ricotta Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
Really great, a little time consuming but worth it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
I made this recipe exactly as directed. It was easy, moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
I used ground turkey and added thyme. I'll add a bit more cayenne next time. Very tastey for my 1st homemade meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
Omg so good!! Topped with cheese homemade sauce! Great meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SueannP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Now I've been making meatballs for years and these are fantastic. Followed recipe as written except I did not add the 1 cup of water to the sauce since I like a thicker sauce. I also added 1 Tbl. spoon of parma cheese to the mix along with 1/2 a teaspoon of Italian Spice blend. Next time I will add just a little less ricotta since I like a firmer meatball. I could'nt stop "testing" them before dinner was served. Very tender and flavorful. Excellent Meataball!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edgewater Park, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
This is my recipe of choice now. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
Really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
This is a great recipe. After reading several reviews, i decided to make these meatballs. I fried my meatballs in the pan as recommended. Mine did not stick to the pan as some reviewers mentioned, and i believe that is because i had a hot pan with oil ready. They browned very nicely. Most importantly, as one reviewer stated, make sure that you are only putting 1 cup of the ricotta. The containers never come in 1 cup but 1.5 or more. I measured mine and that is why my meatballs were not falling apart. They retained their shape nicely. Do not crowd the meatballs in the pan. I worked in batches and once all browned i put them back in the pan. For breadcrumbs, i used seasoned Panko which is what i had on hand, and they worked great. Nice and light. Hope you enjoy! (they were a big hit!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
This is unbelievably delicious! I followed the recipe and it was pretty easy! I started to get worried because the meatballs do start to fall apart in the pan but I'd say 80% held their shape. It was no big deal because it was like adding meat to my husbands homemade marinara. I can easily say these were the best meatballs I've ever had, let alone made! We are a huge fan of Chef John and his awesome videos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joey Joan
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
I make a banging red sauce and these meat balls are very much worthy of said sauce. I baked rather then pan fry. I roasted my spaghetti squash on the same baking sheet as the meatballs. Both were done in the same cooking time on 400 degrees, on the center rack. I use parchment paper on my baking sheet, no stick no fuss no muss. When the squash was tender the balls were cooked through. I turned the balls once during cooking. I didn't cook the onion and garlic before hand, I was being a lazy cook and just chopped them fine and added to the meat mixture, along with fresh dried basil, and sage, as well as fennel seed. Because we prefer larger meatballs I made mine just a bit bigger then golf balls. I got 10 meat balls, just perfect for us. My sauce and this meat ball recipe were meant to be together and I know have a killer use every time meat ball recipe. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joey Joan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hainesport, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Ricotta Meatballs

See how to turn regular beef meatballs into a ricotta-filled sensation.

Chef John's Ricotta Pie

See how to make a lighter, less sweet version of cheesecake.

Chef John's Savory Ricotta Tart

A super-simple savory tart loaded with herby, cheesy flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States