Chef John's Rhubarb Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 28, 2015
Love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2015
DELICIOUS - but watery . Just needs a bit of flour in the filling mixture to make it a sweet, tangy, easy new favourite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2015
I followed this recipe exactly, and I was curious because I have made other rhubarb crisp recipes before that add flour to the rhubarb to thicken it. This recipe did not add flour, and the results were awful. It is rhubarb soup with soggy oatmeal on top. We each ate a scoop over ice cream. Adding a few tablespoons of flour to the rhubarb will allow it to thicken, creating more of a "crisp" dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2015
Best rhubarb crisp recipe I've come across!,,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
This is a great quick dessert that everyone loves especially with a scoop of vanilla ice cream YUM-O!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie Niziol

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
I had never made rhubarb, and this was a hit! I will say this--for the past year or so, I've made many, many Chef John recipes though, and he has yet to make a recipe I didn't truly like. But regardless, a tasty, different sort of dessert. The strawberries add a nice softer element to the flavor. The biggest challenge was finding rhubarb at my local markets! Would definitely recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
Absolutely perfect! I just keep eating and eating… can't stop!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
just an ok recipe to me. it turned out runny with hardly any crust
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
My neighbor mentions she has this massive rhubarb plant, and I casually mention that I like rhubarb desserts. Next thing I know, she has hacked down the entire plant and has brought about 30 lbs of rhubarb to my doorstep. Needless to say, I started searching for recipes. I stumbled upon this one, which seemed perfect for the dinner party for 4 we were having. I made it EXACTLY as the recipe called for, even though I struggled in my mind with "Is one cup of halved strawberries REALLY enough?" This recipe is flat-out DELICIOUS! Tangy with the perfect amount of sweetness. Lemony zesty without lemony overkill. The four of us completely demolished the 9x9 pan I baked it in. Thank goodness I still have about 25 lbs of rhubarb left from the neighbor! I will definitely make this again...as in probably today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
I chopped the rhubarb instead of dicing, and subbed blueberries for strawberries. Also cut down just a teeny bit on the white sugar because I try to omit what I can. Perfect outcome- I was so happy with it. My grandmother had always made lovely rhubarb desserts and thus my first time attempting to work with rhubarb had some high expectations. This recipe was a perfect base. I'm sure it's delicious with strawberries, too... and if I use them in the future, I bet the white sugar could go down to about 1/4c. without missing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Merrimack, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Blackberry Crisp

See how to turn fresh blackberries into a sweet, super-easy fruit crisp.

How to Make Rhubarb Crisp

See how to make a super-simple rhubarb and fresh strawberry crisp.

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States