Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2015
i loved it!! they came out super moist and perfect. :) First time making red velvet, and i am excited!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chepkoech Rono

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
I tried many recipes and the cupcakes were not good at all, the red color just vanished. But this recipe is the best! they are really the red velvet deal! moist, tasty, not too sweet they are just perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Excellent, followed the recipe to the letter , very tasty, always moist. Big hit with family and friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lady Bug

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kate Foley
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
Super easy and came out great :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Foley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
these cupcakes were good, but not exceptional. i made them and tried one. it was good, but not as sweet as a cupcake should be. it was still better than box mix though. i gave one to my brother and he said it tasted like regular bread. a tip to anyone making any red velvet recipe: use apple cider vinegar instead of regular vinegar. it adds a bit more flavor to the cupcakes. overall, it was okay but just okay. chef john disappointed me. his recipes are usually a lot better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
I'm not a fan of red velvet to begin with, after reading reviews I thought I would give it a try& I'm not impressed. It's not vanilla and its not chocolate, it really has no taste at all. Yes, its a light flavour, but why consume so much red dye and have nothing to show/taste for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
This was delicious. I can't remember if I doubled or tripled the recipe (which, I now realize was a horrible plan as things never mix well when you have too much of it). I ended up working it in batches, and it turned out wonderful and moist. Best red velvet recipe yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faythe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
Delicious! Beautiful red color. I didn't have any buttermilk, so I used 3/4 C milk and 3/4 t lemon juice and let stand for 10 minutes to make sour milk. These were a tad--just a tad--dry to me. Hence, the four stars. But (huzzah!) I got more than just a dozen cupcakes out of this recipe. I made 1 dozen regular sized cupcakes and another half dozen mini cupcakes. So, not many over the mark, but just enough to make us extra happy. :) Great recipe! It's scrumptious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make little versions of this classic cake.

Chef John's Chocolate Decadence

Relive the 80's with Chef John's "flourless" chocolate cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States