Chef John's Raw Kale Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
Great taste, evens out the bitterness in the kale! I have been looking for new kale options for awhile now and this was a winner, even with my four yr old son!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Great salad and great way to eat kale! I was hesitant about a raw kale salad with very little else it in, but it was really good. The fruit really balanced out the kale, and it made for a very refreshing summer salad. The only thing I would omit next time is the crushed red pepper flakes. I thought the spiciness seemed a little out of place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
The family loved this! Didn't have oranges, so I substituted Clementines and minneola. Omitted the persimmon (out of season), but can't wait to be able to use it. In spite of the subs, still tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
Mmmm, loved this! Really enjoyed finding a recipe for raw kale. This was SO good and hubby even enjoyed it. Cumin gave it a unique flavor. I reduced the oil a bit and it was plenty. Didn't have persimmon, so I left it out and subbed pecans for the pistachios since that's what I had on hand. Walnuts would've been good too. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
I just made this for my VERY VERY VERY picky salad eating husband...(he is wonderful in many other ways though:-)) He said, "I would definitely eat this again." Score! He will not eat any fruit in his salads so this was huge. I too used the Muscat Vinegar from TJ's: half of this and 1/2 rice vinegar. Toasted some almonds..yummy. Thanks for this recipe! It's difficult to find ways to use kale so this is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mendham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
This is a delicious way to prepare Kale, which I normally just bake into chips. I didn't have orange juice or orange zest so I substituted grapefruit juice and lemon juice (instead of the zest). I also used almonds instead of the pistachios but next time I would used chopped pistachios, I think they would go well with the flavors. I also let the salad sit without the apples for 5 hours. The kale softened and the flavors deepened. I added the apple at the end. Would be a great dinner salad if you added some grilled chicken, preferably marinated with similar Middle Eastern or Indian flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
This was so good! I used fresh mandarin oranges since it was in December . They are so easy to peel and are a great size and flavor. But I used regular oranges for the zest. I'm making it again for the family on Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
Followed recipe exactly. For the salt and pepper to taste, used 1/2 tsp salt and no pepper. Oh, and didn't slice it as thinly as Chef John specified. Served it at a potluck and every last bite was eaten up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
I loved the twist the cumin added to this dressing. Also, perfect balance of sweet and tart, with the addition of oranges and apples in the salad (had to leave out the persimmon as I couldn't find a decent one). I did use a mild flavored avocado oil instead of the olive oil though, as I didn't think I'd care for the strong taste of the olive in this. It's true, the strong kale taste disappears, but it still retains it's pleasant texture. The video on how to cut the orange supremes was great - so glad I know how to do this now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
We generally like kale, but mostly eat it cooked. This salad had terrific flavors and I love the texture of the raw kale! We didn't have persimmons, but used dried pineapple instead, and sliced almonds instead of pistacchios. Sooo good! Even my husband and 5 year old loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Kale Salad

Transform a slightly bitter green into something truly delicious.

Chef John's Shaved Asparagus Salad

Fried pastrami strips and a simple mustard dressing are perfect with asparagus.

Chef John's Salad Lyonnaise

This meal-worthy salad features bacon and poached egg with a simple vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States