Chef John's Ranch Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
This was really good. I only let it sit for about 3 hours and it was already pretty thick by then. I added another splash of buttermilk and it was the perfect consistency!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nijmegen, Gelderland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
Excellent! I've modified it a bit, to suit the family's tastes- dropped the tarragon altogether, more chives (dried) and MORE Italian parsley, plus more garlic and pepper, but it was a hit from the get-go! Thanks for a great recipe- I curtsy in your direction, good sir. I'm now forced to make a spaghetti-jar's worth every week, to keep up with demand, LOL! This is also my go-to for baked potatoes. Uber-yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leopardstripes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Blaine, Washington, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2013
I had to use dry spices in this recipe, I adjusted accordingly. I did increase the dill weed, onion powder and garlic powder--besides that, I made no other changes. This was the dressing for tonight's broccoli salad. The consistancy was perfect, it was just what I needed. Very good. It's hard to mess up ranch dressing, honestly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Everything Chef John makes is awesome and this is really really great as well love this recipe will never eat bottled dressing again and my grandson is only 3yrs old and he will not eat Hidden Valley Ranch he wants grandma's salad dressing I thought it was weird he is 3 so I did a test and he knew so yes even a 3yr old can tell the difference so great job Chef John love your recipe's please keep posting them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
This recipe is my all time favorite Ranch! I didn't use the tarragon because I didn't have it on hand. I can't see how it could have made it any better. This recipe gets 12 stars!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenni72651

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
I, being not American, may not be an expert on Ranch Dressings, but I loved this one! Great balance between mayonnaise, sour cream and butter milk. Better with fresh dill and parsley, but I also made it with all drier ingredients, and so long as you let it stand over night, it still tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
I have to admit that I've been making homemade ranch dressing for many years, and this one is at least as good, if not better (don't tell anyone!), than mine! I love the 2 drops addition of worcestershire sauce and the fresh chives. By the way, Chef J, are you sure that most cowboys are vegetarian? I live in Texas and know a lot of cowboys-but it makes for a great story!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula T

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
I love Chef John! I could watch and listen to his videos all day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
So easy to make and so good - I'll never buy jarred or bottled ranch dressing again! The only change I made was to use only 1 cup of mayo and substitute a little more sour cream and buttermilk to make up the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
The best Ranch Dressing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bob The Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brick, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Ranch Dressing

See how to make America’s favorite creamy salad dressing.

How to Make Blue Cheese Dressing

See how to make creamy homemade blue cheese dressing.

Chef John's Tarragon Aioli

See how to make real aioli flavored with fresh tarragon and plenty of garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States