Chef John's Ranch Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
I've been playing with this off and on for the past few months trying to tweak it to fit my husbands wishes. Made as recipe directs, it's just a tad to thick for our tastes. If you want it to taste more like the store bought kind, we've found adding a splash of vinegar or lemon, a pinch of sugar, and another T or so of buttermilk really does the trick. Thanks so much for recipe! So much nicer than shelling out $4.00 for a bottle of that mega-factory produced stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
The best Ranch Dressing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bob The Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brick, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
So easy to make and so good - I'll never buy jarred or bottled ranch dressing again! The only change I made was to use only 1 cup of mayo and substitute a little more sour cream and buttermilk to make up the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
Excellent! I've modified it a bit, to suit the family's tastes- dropped the tarragon altogether, more chives (dried) and MORE Italian parsley, plus more garlic and pepper, but it was a hit from the get-go! Thanks for a great recipe- I curtsy in your direction, good sir. I'm now forced to make a spaghetti-jar's worth every week, to keep up with demand, LOL! This is also my go-to for baked potatoes. Uber-yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leopardstripes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Blaine, Washington, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2013
I had to use dry spices in this recipe, I adjusted accordingly. I did increase the dill weed, onion powder and garlic powder--besides that, I made no other changes. This was the dressing for tonight's broccoli salad. The consistancy was perfect, it was just what I needed. Very good. It's hard to mess up ranch dressing, honestly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Blended everything except parsley in magic bullet. Added parsley (dried, will make again with fresh) and shook it in. Straight off the spoon it was great but I think for my taste I'll add half again of all herbs and spices except cayenne. We are not big on ranch but really enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
I have to admit that I've been making homemade ranch dressing for many years, and this one is at least as good, if not better (don't tell anyone!), than mine! I love the 2 drops addition of worcestershire sauce and the fresh chives. By the way, Chef J, are you sure that most cowboys are vegetarian? I live in Texas and know a lot of cowboys-but it makes for a great story!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula T

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
I love Chef John! I could watch and listen to his videos all day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
This was really good. I only let it sit for about 3 hours and it was already pretty thick by then. I added another splash of buttermilk and it was the perfect consistency!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nijmegen, Gelderland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
Made exactly as listed. Too thick and tasted too much like mayo. Not like restaurant Ranch at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Ranch Dressing

See how to make America’s favorite creamy salad dressing.

How to Make Blue Cheese Dressing

See how to make creamy homemade blue cheese dressing.

Chef John's Tarragon Aioli

See how to make real aioli flavored with fresh tarragon and plenty of garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States