Chef John's Quick Cassoulet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Very quick and foolproof recipe. I used chicken breast (because I didn't have any thighs, not for health reasons) and dried rosemary and thyme and it still tasted good. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel Hakeem

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
Excellent! I didn't have a skillet that could go in the broiler so I transferred it to a casserole dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
WOW. I'm eating it for breakie right now. Fantastic. Very flexible! I'm a vegetarian so changed all those ingredients and spices to approximate John's meatier options, plus I tossed in a cup of leftover rice, carrots, cabbage, edamame and celery from last night. The topping is DIVINE. Only note I'd add is to check the pan in the broiler at 3 minutes. Mine was ready. Excellent breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
I was looking for recipes to season my new cast iron skillet and I am so glad I came across this one. I wouldn't change a thing. I have another cassoulet recipe that calls for breakfast sausage so I may attempt to use that instead of the smoke sausage the next time I cook this. It smells so good while your cooking it you can't wait for it to be done. It is a little time consuming but it was cold and rainy today so it was a prefect way to stay busy indoors. It was delicious and I will most certainly be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
THis had good flavor and was easy to do. I used a dutch oven to prepare and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Wow. I love Chef John's recipes. I highly recommend watching his cooking videos as well. This is perfect comfort food and very easy to make. I don't have an oven safe skillet so made this in a dutch oven. I used chicken breast (thought I had thighs in the freezer, but no) which was fine but I think thighs would be best. I also used breakfast sausage instead of smoked because I prefer the flavor. I also used dried rosemary and thyme (1/2 tsp. each which was plenty). I was worried that I had added to much chicken broth, but if you follow all the steps, by the end it thickens up so nicely (you'll see if you watch the video). I served this with a green salad with apples and dried cranberries. Thanks, Chef John! Another winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
I'm a believer, Chef John! A few years ago I had dinner in Paris with 2 friends. We had a wonderful cassoulet. I have looked on line for a recipe ever since. Most were too complicated. I took this to a friend's for the finishing broiler touches. Like one of the other reviewers, I transfered it to a casserole dish, but otherwise, I didn't change a thing. Perfect for a cold, snowy night in Minnesota!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
I have made the 3-day version of cassoulet from Paula Wolfert''s "The Cooking of Southwest France" that costs over $100 to make it according to the recipe, and the culinary scavenger hunt took over a month to gather the ingredients. I have made Julia Child's version from "Mastering the Art of French Cooking." Both were very time consuming but delicious. I've had exquisite cassoulet in France. This recipe rivals them all at a much lower expenditure of both time and money. And it is much more heart healthy. Can be done in the evening after work. It is even better the second day. I used homemade chicken stock and chicken breasts since we were snowed in and had no chicken thighs, which would be a lot better. Bravo, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Raquel Teixeira
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
Amazing!!!! My family loved this. One of this loves to eat the classic cassoulet with duck fat, but saw we were making this simplified version ...she was very impressed...people went for seconds. Absolutely amazing and hearty. I doubled the recipe and we were 10 people and it was a perfect amount. The only changes I made was sauteing garlic with the onions because garlic and onions are just a couple that shouldn't be separated. :) I used half hot turkey sausage and half chourico as my sausage component and I used a casserole dish since I don't have a iron skillet. An amazing comfort dish, will definitely be making for guests and the family again!! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raquel Teixeira

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
This was so delicous! The flavor was incredible and fit together nicely. I loved eating this for dinner. Thanks! My family will love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Sitka, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Quick Cassoulet

In this video, you’ll see how to make cassoulet in just an hour.

Chef John's Italian Sausage Chili

Put a tasty Italian twist on traditional American chili con carne.

Chef John's Beef and Barley Stew

Discover Chef John's delicious recipe for "stick to your ribs" stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States