Chef John's Quick Cassoulet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
I'm a believer, Chef John! A few years ago I had dinner in Paris with 2 friends. We had a wonderful cassoulet. I have looked on line for a recipe ever since. Most were too complicated. I took this to a friend's for the finishing broiler touches. Like one of the other reviewers, I transfered it to a casserole dish, but otherwise, I didn't change a thing. Perfect for a cold, snowy night in Minnesota!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Wow. I love Chef John's recipes. I highly recommend watching his cooking videos as well. This is perfect comfort food and very easy to make. I don't have an oven safe skillet so made this in a dutch oven. I used chicken breast (thought I had thighs in the freezer, but no) which was fine but I think thighs would be best. I also used breakfast sausage instead of smoked because I prefer the flavor. I also used dried rosemary and thyme (1/2 tsp. each which was plenty). I was worried that I had added to much chicken broth, but if you follow all the steps, by the end it thickens up so nicely (you'll see if you watch the video). I served this with a green salad with apples and dried cranberries. Thanks, Chef John! Another winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Made it tonight since it is 0 degrees outside today and it was awesome! Quick to make with just a handful of ingredients. Lots of flavor just the way it is. I can't wait to make it for friends. Even my 2 1/2 yr old loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
Excellent! I didn't have a skillet that could go in the broiler so I transferred it to a casserole dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
I was looking for recipes to season my new cast iron skillet and I am so glad I came across this one. I wouldn't change a thing. I have another cassoulet recipe that calls for breakfast sausage so I may attempt to use that instead of the smoke sausage the next time I cook this. It smells so good while your cooking it you can't wait for it to be done. It is a little time consuming but it was cold and rainy today so it was a prefect way to stay busy indoors. It was delicious and I will most certainly be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
THis had good flavor and was easy to do. I used a dutch oven to prepare and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Very quick and foolproof recipe. I used chicken breast (because I didn't have any thighs, not for health reasons) and dried rosemary and thyme and it still tasted good. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel Hakeem

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
This was so delicous! The flavor was incredible and fit together nicely. I loved eating this for dinner. Thanks! My family will love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Sitka, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
WOW. I'm eating it for breakie right now. Fantastic. Very flexible! I'm a vegetarian so changed all those ingredients and spices to approximate John's meatier options, plus I tossed in a cup of leftover rice, carrots, cabbage, edamame and celery from last night. The topping is DIVINE. Only note I'd add is to check the pan in the broiler at 3 minutes. Mine was ready. Excellent breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-19 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Quick Cassoulet

In this video, you’ll see how to make cassoulet in just an hour.

Chef John's Italian Sausage Chili

Put a tasty Italian twist on traditional American chili con carne.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States