Chef John's Quick Cassoulet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
This was very good! It is a little bit salty so do NOT add any extra salt! I used slightly less rosemary since we are not super big on that spice, but otherwise did exactly as written! Thanks Chef John, very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
I tried it as written, with the only substitution that I put fresh basil instead of fresh thyme both because that's a flavour I prefer and because it's what I had on hand. I paired it with honey-glazed carrots and it worked really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
I made this as specified for a dinner with friends. Everyone took second helpings! It tasted amazing and it was quite easy to prepare. I tried several recipes from Chef John, and I've been happy with them all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
I have made the 3-day version of cassoulet from Paula Wolfert''s "The Cooking of Southwest France" that costs over $100 to make it according to the recipe, and the culinary scavenger hunt took over a month to gather the ingredients. I have made Julia Child's version from "Mastering the Art of French Cooking." Both were very time consuming but delicious. I've had exquisite cassoulet in France. This recipe rivals them all at a much lower expenditure of both time and money. And it is much more heart healthy. Can be done in the evening after work. It is even better the second day. I used homemade chicken stock and chicken breasts since we were snowed in and had no chicken thighs, which would be a lot better. Bravo, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
Fantastic! Made the recipe exactly as stated, and it was wonderful. My husband said it was his new favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Raquel Teixeira
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
Amazing!!!! My family loved this. One of this loves to eat the classic cassoulet with duck fat, but saw we were making this simplified version ...she was very impressed...people went for seconds. Absolutely amazing and hearty. I doubled the recipe and we were 10 people and it was a perfect amount. The only changes I made was sauteing garlic with the onions because garlic and onions are just a couple that shouldn't be separated. :) I used half hot turkey sausage and half chourico as my sausage component and I used a casserole dish since I don't have a iron skillet. An amazing comfort dish, will definitely be making for guests and the family again!! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raquel Teixeira

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 14, 2013
The family keeps asking when will I make this again and my husband was blackballed at work for taking the leftovers and flaunting them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fenwick, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cantley, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
To me, this recipe's only saving grace was the sausage and the bacon. Everything else was just mushy blah. Made exactly as written. Not sure what went wrong. I love French food and Chef John's recipes in general. I may have to make this again just to see if I feel the same way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
This is great. It is delicious. If you prep the beans from scratch, this meal can come together for under $6.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
Was very happy with the shortcut results! Lots of flavor and very easy. My mistake was to use seasoned breadcrumbs which made this waaaaay salty on top of the sausage. I used a combination of kielbasa and chourico. May try with a mild Italian sausage next time. Also, wasn't sure how thick this was supposed to end up but I used more stock and it could have used even a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's Quick Cassoulet

In this video, you’ll see how to make cassoulet in just an hour.

Chef John's Italian Sausage Chili

Put a tasty Italian twist on traditional American chili con carne.

Chef John's Chicken Tikka Masala

Coconut milk, instead of cream, is the key to this classic chicken curry dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States