Chef John's Quiche Lorraine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by lisa j
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
Delish! I skipped the pie dough recipe and used a frozen pie shell. Deep dish a must! I also did not layer it. Followed directions until filling the crust. Just mixed all the ingredients in a bowl and poured into a frozen pie crust. Baked for 50 mins on 325. Perfect! I would not add any more ingredients for filling the quiche (mushrooms, broccoli, etc) as one tends to do in a quiche. There is no room at the Inn. This filling fills a deep dish pie shell as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa j

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
What is not to like - cheese, bacon & cream along with onion and you have a match made in heaven. Warning! Use a Deep Dish pie pan - or all the filling will not fit. Also, you must let quiche cool to fully set. This a classic recipe with a really good method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
Yummy!!!! :) This was the first time I ever made quiche and I was a little nervous about it but I had company over and wanted to make something different. This is a fabulous recipie. I used parmesan and herb seasoning instead of thyme and colby jack cheese instead of Gruyere because that's what I had on hand and it was scrumptious. Made my crust which I just poked holes with a fork in the crust then simply baked it for 10 min. (blind bake thing too much bother). Fried my bacon and onion, mixed up my eggs, put it all in the fridge and it took 2 minutes to assemble and pop in the oven in the morning! Definitly a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ccmariposa
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
Wonderful! The first time I made it is was very good, but the 2nd time I watched the video and what a difference.WOW! The tips he gives in the video you can't get from the recipe only. I don't like watching videos but this was a must for me. I get the difference now,from a dense eggy quiche which can still be tasty but Chef John's true quiche is a custardy flavorful delight, a taste to behold!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ccmariposa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
I made this quiche, as laid out in the recipe, for my husband last night (I'm a pescatarian, so I made mine with veggies instead). It was my first time making a quiche. He really liked it. He ate half of the quiche in two helpings last night and ate the other half for brunch today. It always gets me giddy when his mouth is filled with something I've just made and he gets that, "Da*n this is good," look on his face. Such a reward :) So...this was a success and I'll be making it again. I'm such a visual/"in motion" kind of learner, so, as someone who is just starting out with cooking, watching the video, as well as having the written recipe, really helps me. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lumen

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kimbopumpkin
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Fantastic recipe! I didn't follow it to the T, as I have a bad habit of speed reading and not necessarily catching all the details. I substituted onion for spring onion as had a lot of the latter growing in the garden. Then mixed the bacon together with the onion-leek mix which turned out fine. We didn't fill the mixture to the top of the dish as we were afraid it would overflow, but now realised we should've as the centre mix will sink a bit as it cools, so next time we will make sure to fill it right to the top. We also made the pie dough and for a first timer, who wasn't too fussed with specific weights/measurements, it turned out fine. I was actually quite surprised how well it turned out and am sure will be making more pie crusts in future instead of going to the supermarket. Highly recommended - I would make this dish again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimbopumpkin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
I've made Quiche Lorraine for at least 30 years from the recipe in the big Betty Crocker cookbook. I didn't think there was a better one until I tried Chef John's. The biggest difference was the addition of leeks and using Gruyere cheese. I used an applewood smoked Gruyere which gave it even more flavor. I'm not going to look any further. This is my "go to" Quiche Lorraine recipe A couple of people didn't like the mouth feel of this quiche, but that is what really good quiche is supposed to be like. It's the cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Winona, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Excellent recipe! The custard was rich and satisfying - a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prittykitty74

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
I really loved this quiche! The layering tip was fool proof. I used a frozen pie crust and forgot to buy deep dish so instead I used 3 whole eggs, all of the milk and 1/4 cup of table cream. I also added spinach and mushrooms and beef pepperoni in place of the bacon. Although it took more than a hour in the oven. I suggest baking in a 375 degree oven instead. Overall, It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Little Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
The good points-the flavor combo is good, the layering & ladling made for a perfect distribution of ingredients, & it looked very pretty(fitting PERFECTLY into the crust, too). The bad points-my crisp cooked bacon ended up chewy. The texture of the quiche is way too soft for me, I actually gagged on my 2nd bite, this after letting it rest 2 hrs out of the oven. The next day it's a little more firm but still too mushy for my taste. IDK, more eggs or less milk(or both)?? Sorry, Chef John. Not a hit here :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Quiche Lorraine

See how to make a classic, custardy, egg and bacon brunch dish.

Chef John's Baked Eggs

See how to make spicy baked eggs for breakfast, lunch, or dinner!

Quiche Lorraine I

See how to make an impressive classic with eggs, bacon, and Swiss cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States