Chef John's Quiche Lorraine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by kimbopumpkin
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Fantastic recipe! I didn't follow it to the T, as I have a bad habit of speed reading and not necessarily catching all the details. I substituted onion for spring onion as had a lot of the latter growing in the garden. Then mixed the bacon together with the onion-leek mix which turned out fine. We didn't fill the mixture to the top of the dish as we were afraid it would overflow, but now realised we should've as the centre mix will sink a bit as it cools, so next time we will make sure to fill it right to the top. We also made the pie dough and for a first timer, who wasn't too fussed with specific weights/measurements, it turned out fine. I was actually quite surprised how well it turned out and am sure will be making more pie crusts in future instead of going to the supermarket. Highly recommended - I would make this dish again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimbopumpkin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Excellent recipe! The custard was rich and satisfying - a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prittykitty74

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
WOW! A hit with everyone, including the kiddos. Best recipe I have found!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
This was a huge hit at our brunch this weekend. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lisa j
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
Delish! I skipped the pie dough recipe and used a frozen pie shell. Deep dish a must! I also did not layer it. Followed directions until filling the crust. Just mixed all the ingredients in a bowl and poured into a frozen pie crust. Baked for 50 mins on 325. Perfect! I would not add any more ingredients for filling the quiche (mushrooms, broccoli, etc) as one tends to do in a quiche. There is no room at the Inn. This filling fills a deep dish pie shell as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa j

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
Wonderful flavor. I had to bake longer than stated but otherwise I followed the recipe exactly and was very pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
Made this and was very impressed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
Yummy!!!! :) This was the first time I ever made quiche and I was a little nervous about it but I had company over and wanted to make something different. This is a fabulous recipie. I used parmesan and herb seasoning instead of thyme and colby jack cheese instead of Gruyere because that's what I had on hand and it was scrumptious. Made my crust which I just poked holes with a fork in the crust then simply baked it for 10 min. (blind bake thing too much bother). Fried my bacon and onion, mixed up my eggs, put it all in the fridge and it took 2 minutes to assemble and pop in the oven in the morning! Definitly a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
What is not to like - cheese, bacon & cream along with onion and you have a match made in heaven. Warning! Use a Deep Dish pie pan - or all the filling will not fit. Also, you must let quiche cool to fully set. This a classic recipe with a really good method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Quiche Lorraine

See how to make a classic, custardy, egg and bacon brunch dish.

Chef John's Baked Eggs

See how to make spicy baked eggs for breakfast, lunch, or dinner!

Chef John's Monte Cristo Benedict

See how to make the ultimate brunch dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States