Chef John's Quiche Lorraine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
I have many quiche recipes but I just tried this one for the first time and it is the best of all of them! Chef John's video on how to make it was helpful, especially the technique on making the crust lie flat. It was a huge hit here in Europe. It is not dry like scrambled eggs thrown in a pie shell but moist. I adjusted the recipe for 8 people and used 4 eggs and one egg yolk. The flavor is delicate and it is rich, fulfilling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
I wish I had taken a photo as this came out "picture perfect" and tasted wonderful! It was the 1st time I've cooked with leeks and found the flavor fresh & not overpowering. I used a frozen deep dish pie crust, too, and put foil over the top the last 5-7 minutes from keeping the top in getting too brown. Definitely a "must do it again"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
Made this recipe exactly as stated, and it was perfect. My very picky five year old loved it, as did my whole family. I used an already-made frozen pie crust, and followed Chef John's instructions to a "T". I will be making this again. Thank you again Chef John for another terrific recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Photo by kimbopumpkin
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Fantastic recipe! I didn't follow it to the T, as I have a bad habit of speed reading and not necessarily catching all the details. I substituted onion for spring onion as had a lot of the latter growing in the garden. Then mixed the bacon together with the onion-leek mix which turned out fine. We didn't fill the mixture to the top of the dish as we were afraid it would overflow, but now realised we should've as the centre mix will sink a bit as it cools, so next time we will make sure to fill it right to the top. We also made the pie dough and for a first timer, who wasn't too fussed with specific weights/measurements, it turned out fine. I was actually quite surprised how well it turned out and am sure will be making more pie crusts in future instead of going to the supermarket. Highly recommended - I would make this dish again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimbopumpkin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Excellent recipe! The custard was rich and satisfying - a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prittykitty74

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
WOW! A hit with everyone, including the kiddos. Best recipe I have found!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
This was a huge hit at our brunch this weekend. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lisa j
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
Delish! I skipped the pie dough recipe and used a frozen pie shell. Deep dish a must! I also did not layer it. Followed directions until filling the crust. Just mixed all the ingredients in a bowl and poured into a frozen pie crust. Baked for 50 mins on 325. Perfect! I would not add any more ingredients for filling the quiche (mushrooms, broccoli, etc) as one tends to do in a quiche. There is no room at the Inn. This filling fills a deep dish pie shell as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa j

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
Wonderful flavor. I had to bake longer than stated but otherwise I followed the recipe exactly and was very pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico

Displaying results 61-70 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Quiche Lorraine

See how to make a classic, custardy, egg and bacon brunch dish.

Chef John's Baked Eggs

See how to make spicy baked eggs for breakfast, lunch, or dinner!

Chef John's Monte Cristo Benedict

See how to make the ultimate brunch dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States