Chef John's Quiche Lorraine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
Oh my! First time I made a quiche. It turned out to be easy and delicious. Perfect texture. The custard consistency is brilliant. As our luncheon guest, a former ambassador said, "It couldn't be farther from the kind you buy in the store. Whatever you did, keep on doing it. And can I have a second helping." Many thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cruisingkitty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Wonderful. First homemade quiche that does not taste like a dense omlet. It's texture was really fluffy. I used 1/2 and 1/2 instead of milk, because I only had skim milk. I also used the video recipe for this recipe and it REALLY helped me figure out how to determine when the quiche was done. I did, however, failed to use a deepdish pie pan, so I did not add all of the egg mixture, as it would have run over. I will not make that mistake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deb3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, Michigan, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Photo by Nancy E
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Best quiche EVER! I also used the frozen crust. Other than than I followed the directions. I will make this again, SOON!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deanna McGuire

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
What can I say, this was easy and fabulous. I was timid to use fresh thyme and leeks because I had never done either before. But it was easy and the video was great. For me, actions (video) are better than words (reading) :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brookfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Plainfield, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
I made a few modifications to work with what I had in the kitchen and it still turned out fantastic! I used Puff Pastry out of the freezer and did not have Gruyere or Swiss either so used Havarti with just a small amount of blue cheese and the flavor was wonderful. Also did not pre-cook the leeks first and they cooked just fine in the oven. I added fresh sliced mushrooms to the bottom along with the onion mixture and that did cause the crust to be soggy, so next time I will still be adding the mushrooms but will put them on the very top. Definitely worth a repeat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
I have many quiche recipes but I just tried this one for the first time and it is the best of all of them! Chef John's video on how to make it was helpful, especially the technique on making the crust lie flat. It was a huge hit here in Europe. It is not dry like scrambled eggs thrown in a pie shell but moist. I adjusted the recipe for 8 people and used 4 eggs and one egg yolk. The flavor is delicate and it is rich, fulfilling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
I wish I had taken a photo as this came out "picture perfect" and tasted wonderful! It was the 1st time I've cooked with leeks and found the flavor fresh & not overpowering. I used a frozen deep dish pie crust, too, and put foil over the top the last 5-7 minutes from keeping the top in getting too brown. Definitely a "must do it again"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
Made this recipe exactly as stated, and it was perfect. My very picky five year old loved it, as did my whole family. I used an already-made frozen pie crust, and followed Chef John's instructions to a "T". I will be making this again. Thank you again Chef John for another terrific recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Photo by kimbopumpkin
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Fantastic recipe! I didn't follow it to the T, as I have a bad habit of speed reading and not necessarily catching all the details. I substituted onion for spring onion as had a lot of the latter growing in the garden. Then mixed the bacon together with the onion-leek mix which turned out fine. We didn't fill the mixture to the top of the dish as we were afraid it would overflow, but now realised we should've as the centre mix will sink a bit as it cools, so next time we will make sure to fill it right to the top. We also made the pie dough and for a first timer, who wasn't too fussed with specific weights/measurements, it turned out fine. I was actually quite surprised how well it turned out and am sure will be making more pie crusts in future instead of going to the supermarket. Highly recommended - I would make this dish again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimbopumpkin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Quiche Lorraine

See how to make a classic, custardy, egg and bacon brunch dish.

Chef John's Baked Eggs

See how to make spicy baked eggs for breakfast, lunch, or dinner!

Chef John's Monte Cristo Benedict

See how to make the ultimate brunch dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States