Chef John's Quiche Lorraine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Sugar Girl
Reviewed: May 18, 2014
My family loves quiche !!! I made one as the recipes calls for with the bacon and then I made one with broccoli and spinach with grilled leeks and sharp cheddar cheese !!!!! Yum -- The best quiche ever. We loved the veggie one the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sugar Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
We've made this a bunch of times for various friends and family - always a big hit. The prep takes me a while (not quick at chopping all the veggies and spices) but it's well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
This was a lot of work for a gooey, not quite set quiche. The only change I made was using swiss cheese but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. I guess I like my quiche a little more firm so I'll go back to my regular recipe. Sorry, Chef John, I've loved all your other recipes, just not this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
This was a very tasty quiche! I pretty much followed the recipe to a T, but did use my own pie crust recipe, added an extra egg (was using a deep dish pie plate), and used a combo of cheddar, provolone and parmesan cheeses since I didn't have gruyere on hand - but would love to try it with gruyere next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SandraJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
DELICIOUS!! So full of flavor and a beautiful soft fluffy texture! The only modification I made was to do a full cup of onions, instead of 1/2 onions, 1/2 leeks, simply because I didn't want to go buy leeks. I didn't use Chef John's pie crust recipe, but I'm sure it's good also. Thanks for an amazing recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
This quiche was one of the best home made ones, that I have ever tasted. I have made many quiches over the years, but this one is definitely in my recipe file. Thank you Chef John
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
But, if you want to kick this up to 5 stars, forget the cayenne, or black pepper like most people use, and use Basil, it's a good pepper substitute and I can really enjoy this without getting heart burn from the pepper. Everybody in my house loves this. Also, we like the cream cheese crust the best too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
Absolutely delicious and so moist and creamy. I made it exactly as written and will make it again and again! Thanks for sharing Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Delmar, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
This is by far the best quiche I have ever tasted. I was a little nervous after reading some of the reviews and seeing people describe the texture as soft or loose. When I think of soft or loose eggs I envision runny egg whites which I agree are gross, but the texture of this quiche is NOT loose like an undercooked egg, it's smoother like a cream cheese. I made it exactly as written...no substitutes and no omissions. I did; however, use Applewood smoked Gruyere. Everything went together quickly and after watching the video (which was quite helpful), the ingredients were perfectly distributed throughout. My daughter took the inaugural first bite and her expression said it all...it's a winner! Thanks, Chef John, for a fantastic addition to my recipe file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vatech90

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fishersville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
I really loved this quiche! The layering tip was fool proof. I used a frozen pie crust and forgot to buy deep dish so instead I used 3 whole eggs, all of the milk and 1/4 cup of table cream. I also added spinach and mushrooms and beef pepperoni in place of the bacon. Although it took more than a hour in the oven. I suggest baking in a 375 degree oven instead. Overall, It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Little Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Quiche Lorraine

See how to make a classic, custardy, egg and bacon brunch dish.

Chef John's Baked Eggs

See how to make spicy baked eggs for breakfast, lunch, or dinner!

Quiche Lorraine I

See how to make an impressive classic with eggs, bacon, and Swiss cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States