Chef John's Quiche Lorraine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
This quiche was one of the best home made ones, that I have ever tasted. I have made many quiches over the years, but this one is definitely in my recipe file. Thank you Chef John
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
But, if you want to kick this up to 5 stars, forget the cayenne, or black pepper like most people use, and use Basil, it's a good pepper substitute and I can really enjoy this without getting heart burn from the pepper. Everybody in my house loves this. Also, we like the cream cheese crust the best too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
Absolutely delicious and so moist and creamy. I made it exactly as written and will make it again and again! Thanks for sharing Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Delmar, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
This is by far the best quiche I have ever tasted. I was a little nervous after reading some of the reviews and seeing people describe the texture as soft or loose. When I think of soft or loose eggs I envision runny egg whites which I agree are gross, but the texture of this quiche is NOT loose like an undercooked egg, it's smoother like a cream cheese. I made it exactly as written...no substitutes and no omissions. I did; however, use Applewood smoked Gruyere. Everything went together quickly and after watching the video (which was quite helpful), the ingredients were perfectly distributed throughout. My daughter took the inaugural first bite and her expression said it all...it's a winner! Thanks, Chef John, for a fantastic addition to my recipe file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vatech90

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fishersville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
I really liked this quiche! The layering tip was fool proof. I used a frozen pie crust and forgot to buy deep dish so instead I used 3 whole eggs, all of the milk and 1/4 cup of table cream. I also added spinach and mushrooms and beef pepperoni in place of the bacon. Although it took more than a hour in the oven. I suggest baking in a 375 degree oven instead. Overall, It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Little Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
EXCELLENT recipe! I will certainly make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
This was fabulous. I made it for a birthday luncheon. I used a Pillsbury refrigerated roll out pie crust and did not prebake it. I coated the crust with an egg white to keep the filling from making it soggy. I also was short a pie pan so I used a tart pan with a removable bottom. The quiche came out thinner, more like a tart, but it was very pretty when removed from the tart pan and since it is so rich anyway, the thinner sections were just right when served with other dishes. I used defrosted, moisture squeezed from frozen sliced leeks (from Trader Joe's) and about a tsp (or to taste) of dried thyme instead of fresh. I've made many quiches but never a Quiche Lorraine and I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Since having the quiche at Mon Ami Gabi in Las Vegas I've been searching for a recipe close to it. This is it! Creamy and delicious. I paired it with a frisee salad with a Klamath vinaigrette. I found the video to be REALLY helpful. Thank you Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
This is the best quiche recipe I have ever made. I made this for Christmas brunch and it was a huge hit. It takes more effort than a traditional recipe but is well worth it. This will be my go to recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
WOW! Delicious! Easy to make and so so good! Word of caution, it will take more than an hour for this to cool to just above room temperature and maybe longer. I gave it 35 minutes and decided to cut it and it wasn't long enough. It still tasted delish but wasn't firm in the middle. But I know for next time. The slices that cooled did firm up though eventually but we couldn't wait any longer after already cutting into it haha! I did have to bake it about 52 minutes because my oven seems to always take more time. I advise anyone who wants to make this to watch the video for some great tips. I did add about 3/4 of a cup of chopped leeks since he mentioned he added more. I used 7 ounces of Gruyere cheese because that's what I had and I didn't want to waste it, it's too expensive! In the video he says to layer with 2/3 of each and then top with the last 1/3 instead of 1/3 each x3 which is what I did because it was easier. My whole family loved this recipe. I will definitely be making this again on special occasions. Thanks to another fabulous recipe Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Quiche Lorraine

See how to make a classic, custardy, egg and bacon brunch dish.

Quiche Lorraine I

See how to make an impressive classic with eggs, bacon, and Swiss cheese.

Chef John's Baked Eggs

See how to make spicy baked eggs for breakfast, lunch, or dinner!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States