Chef John's Quiche Lorraine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
EXCELLENT recipe! I will certainly make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
This was fabulous. I made it for a birthday luncheon. I used a Pillsbury refrigerated roll out pie crust and did not prebake it. I coated the crust with an egg white to keep the filling from making it soggy. I also was short a pie pan so I used a tart pan with a removable bottom. The quiche came out thinner, more like a tart, but it was very pretty when removed from the tart pan and since it is so rich anyway, the thinner sections were just right when served with other dishes. I used defrosted, moisture squeezed from frozen sliced leeks (from Trader Joe's) and about a tsp (or to taste) of dried thyme instead of fresh. I've made many quiches but never a Quiche Lorraine and I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Since having the quiche at Mon Ami Gabi in Las Vegas I've been searching for a recipe close to it. This is it! Creamy and delicious. I paired it with a frisee salad with a Klamath vinaigrette. I found the video to be REALLY helpful. Thank you Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
This is the best quiche recipe I have ever made. I made this for Christmas brunch and it was a huge hit. It takes more effort than a traditional recipe but is well worth it. This will be my go to recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
WOW! Delicious! Easy to make and so so good! Word of caution, it will take more than an hour for this to cool to just above room temperature and maybe longer. I gave it 35 minutes and decided to cut it and it wasn't long enough. It still tasted delish but wasn't firm in the middle. But I know for next time. The slices that cooled did firm up though eventually but we couldn't wait any longer after already cutting into it haha! I did have to bake it about 52 minutes because my oven seems to always take more time. I advise anyone who wants to make this to watch the video for some great tips. I did add about 3/4 of a cup of chopped leeks since he mentioned he added more. I used 7 ounces of Gruyere cheese because that's what I had and I didn't want to waste it, it's too expensive! In the video he says to layer with 2/3 of each and then top with the last 1/3 instead of 1/3 each x3 which is what I did because it was easier. My whole family loved this recipe. I will definitely be making this again on special occasions. Thanks to another fabulous recipe Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Excellent! I changed it up a bit, using less bacon and adding fresh asparagus pre cooked. It was very easy to make and was a delicious dinner with a accompanying salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Awesome recipe!!! I couldnt find leeks...used white onion. Added bell pepper. Used the gruyere cheese & swiss...so good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Made it for family Christmas brunch and it was excellent. You are right about the custardy texture! The only observation is that mine took almost an hour at 325, which meant it couldn't cool as long as recommended the way I'd planned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Made this quiche for family visiting on Thanksgiving morning. It was my first quiche ever so I was a little nervous to try it out on house guests but I followed the recipe exactly and it came out dee-lish!!! My family was raving about it and it was still super yummy the following day. Easy and flavorful. You can't lose on this one. However.....use a deep dish pie crust. This made a ton. Thanks for my new go to recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Graham Holley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sonoma, California, USA
Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Took this to a Bible Study group -- all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Quiche Lorraine

See how to make a classic, custardy, egg and bacon brunch dish.

Chef John's Baked Eggs

See how to make spicy baked eggs for breakfast, lunch, or dinner!

Quiche Lorraine I

See how to make an impressive classic with eggs, bacon, and Swiss cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States