Chef John's Quiche Lorraine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
WOW! Delicious! Easy to make and so so good! Word of caution, it will take more than an hour for this to cool to just above room temperature and maybe longer. I gave it 35 minutes and decided to cut it and it wasn't long enough. It still tasted delish but wasn't firm in the middle. But I know for next time. The slices that cooled did firm up though eventually but we couldn't wait any longer after already cutting into it haha! I did have to bake it about 52 minutes because my oven seems to always take more time. I advise anyone who wants to make this to watch the video for some great tips. I did add about 3/4 of a cup of chopped leeks since he mentioned he added more. I used 7 ounces of Gruyere cheese because that's what I had and I didn't want to waste it, it's too expensive! In the video he says to layer with 2/3 of each and then top with the last 1/3 instead of 1/3 each x3 which is what I did because it was easier. My whole family loved this recipe. I will definitely be making this again on special occasions. Thanks to another fabulous recipe Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Excellent! I changed it up a bit, using less bacon and adding fresh asparagus pre cooked. It was very easy to make and was a delicious dinner with a accompanying salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Awesome recipe!!! I couldnt find leeks...used white onion. Added bell pepper. Used the gruyere cheese & swiss...so good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Made it for family Christmas brunch and it was excellent. You are right about the custardy texture! The only observation is that mine took almost an hour at 325, which meant it couldn't cool as long as recommended the way I'd planned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Made this quiche for family visiting on Thanksgiving morning. It was my first quiche ever so I was a little nervous to try it out on house guests but I followed the recipe exactly and it came out dee-lish!!! My family was raving about it and it was still super yummy the following day. Easy and flavorful. You can't lose on this one. However.....use a deep dish pie crust. This made a ton. Thanks for my new go to recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smile4nini

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sonoma, California, USA
Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Took this to a Bible Study group -- all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
I've made Quiche Lorraine for at least 30 years from the recipe in the big Betty Crocker cookbook. I didn't think there was a better one until I tried Chef John's. The biggest difference was the addition of leeks and using Gruyere cheese. I used an applewood smoked Gruyere which gave it even more flavor. I'm not going to look any further. This is my "go to" Quiche Lorraine recipe A couple of people didn't like the mouth feel of this quiche, but that is what really good quiche is supposed to be like. It's the cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Winona, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
A lot of ingredients and steps for a product not as exceptional as I had hoped for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
Made it exactly as is. Wasn't sure about the chopped thyme but I ran with it...and the quiche was delicious. I resisted the temptation to add any other ingredients - well I had chives at hand and thought about adding them but stuck with the original recipe and I'm glad I did. Thank you Chef John. Now if only I could learn how to cut the first slice without my quiche falling apart....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonoma Johnny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sonoma, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
Custardy perfection! Oh my! I had to keep myself from eating the entire quiche in one sitting! The video demonstration was great! This was actually my first time making a quiche and I think it turned out perfect because I watched the video. Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicki

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jacksonville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Quiche Lorraine

See how to make a classic, custardy, egg and bacon brunch dish.

Chef John's Baked Eggs

See how to make spicy baked eggs for breakfast, lunch, or dinner!

Chef John's Monte Cristo Benedict

See how to make the ultimate brunch dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States