Chef John's Quiche Lorraine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
I tried this twice today as a dry run for our Bastille Day celebration. I used my grandmother's pie crust recipe which is delicious, but I did not have a deep dish pie plate so I used a springform pan. First time it seemed like I did something wrong with the pie crust as it was mushy on the bottom. Second time the crust was better but did not cook thoroughly on the bottom, which I think might be a result of the wonderful custardy-light filling. I think this is a fantastic recipe using a deep dish pie crust pan, but I need to tweak it when using a springform pan, which I thought gave it a café-like appearance. All in all, I will always use this recipe as a go-to for a light, fluffy quiche. Husband is French and thinks this is fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Megan Renee Sarah Sampson
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
I will never make 'quiche' without custard again!! Quiche without the custard tastes like a baked omelette, as other reviewers mentioned, this recipe is something totally different than frittata like 'quiche' recipes. I used a frozen pie crust because I had one but everything else followed exactly. The creaminess of the Gouda and custard is perfect, make sure to layer. I used sliced Gouda and it was perfect. I baked for 52 minutes on the middle rack and had the pie tin on an insulated cookie sheet. Obviously this is more calorie dense than just egg for daily breakfasts but for Sunday brunch it's awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan Renee Sarah Sampson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Beaumont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sugar Girl
Reviewed: May 18, 2014
My family loves quiche !!! I made one as the recipes calls for with the bacon and then I made one with broccoli and spinach with grilled leeks and sharp cheddar cheese !!!!! Yum -- The best quiche ever. We loved the veggie one the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sugar Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
We've made this a bunch of times for various friends and family - always a big hit. The prep takes me a while (not quick at chopping all the veggies and spices) but it's well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
This was a lot of work for a gooey, not quite set quiche. The only change I made was using swiss cheese but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. I guess I like my quiche a little more firm so I'll go back to my regular recipe. Sorry, Chef John, I've loved all your other recipes, just not this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
This was a very tasty quiche! I pretty much followed the recipe to a T, but did use my own pie crust recipe, added an extra egg (was using a deep dish pie plate), and used a combo of cheddar, provolone and parmesan cheeses since I didn't have gruyere on hand - but would love to try it with gruyere next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SandraJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
DELICIOUS!! So full of flavor and a beautiful soft fluffy texture! The only modification I made was to do a full cup of onions, instead of 1/2 onions, 1/2 leeks, simply because I didn't want to go buy leeks. I didn't use Chef John's pie crust recipe, but I'm sure it's good also. Thanks for an amazing recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
This quiche was one of the best home made ones, that I have ever tasted. I have made many quiches over the years, but this one is definitely in my recipe file. Thank you Chef John
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
But, if you want to kick this up to 5 stars, forget the cayenne, or black pepper like most people use, and use Basil, it's a good pepper substitute and I can really enjoy this without getting heart burn from the pepper. Everybody in my house loves this. Also, we like the cream cheese crust the best too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
Absolutely delicious and so moist and creamy. I made it exactly as written and will make it again and again! Thanks for sharing Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Delmar, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Quiche Lorraine

See how to make a classic, custardy, egg and bacon brunch dish.

Chef John's Baked Eggs

See how to make spicy baked eggs for breakfast, lunch, or dinner!

Quiche Lorraine I

See how to make an impressive classic with eggs, bacon, and Swiss cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States