Chef John's Pumpkin Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2015
We all liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
I've never made scones but this was clean out the cabinets week for me and I found a can of pumpkin I wanted to use up.I watched the video twice because I don't usually bake.I didn't have pine nuts so used walnuts and browned them just a tad to bring out flavor.I made it as written not trying to make it something it wasn't other then the nuts.I used the maple glaze.Surprisingly I made a delicious scone.I wish I had this for the Holidays but will be a keeper for next season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Tatum
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
This recipe is amazing , I did add chocolate chunks and walnuts and my own spices to plain pumpkin pie........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
I had to use a lot more flour.. It turned out like moist bread rather than a crumbly scone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
I made these yesterday for a large gathering. They were the first things gone. I also added cinnamon & nutmeg to the batter and topped with a simple glaze of powdered sugar, cinnamon, milk and a splash of maple syrup. Oh I left out the pinenuts simply because I didn't have any on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
I made this today for a work function. They came out great and were eaten right up. I made a few minor changes. I used 1% milk instead of buttermilk, instead of 1/3 cup pine nuts I used aprox. 2 1/2 Tablespoons chopped walnuts and 2 1/2 Tablespoons chopped milk chocolate chips, I cut them into 24 smaller pieces, and I did not use the egg wash on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
I took the advice of several of the reviewers and added cinnamon and chocolate chips and these were divine. Thank you Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
I usually love Chef John's recipes and swear by his pavlova. For some reason, this was a failure. The scones were too soft and muffin-like and the flavor was bland. Even the vanilla glaze I added could not wake them up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RIELLA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LuxorRio
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Delicious! I made them today! It was easy and I did with regular icing all over and then a drizzle of some icing mixed with cinnamon, to add some flavor! I also did it without any nuts! Well, everyone LOVED THEM!! Thanks! Here's my photo, the one with the purple border!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
Followed to a T, not too familiar with scones but this was more of a biscuit type. The dough was really wet so I added maybe another 1/2 cup of flour just to be able to "fold" it. It does need cinn/nutmeg/ginger, etc; not much flavor. Will not make again :/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StarMoon Mommi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Whole-Grain Blueberry Scones

Perfect for lunch or simply to let someone know they're loved!

Chef John's Dutch Baby

See how to make quick, easy, impressive Dutch babies.

Chef John's Irish Soda Bread

Classic recipe for an Irish quick bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States