Chef John's Pumpkin Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by LuxorRio
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Delicious! I made them today! It was easy and I did with regular icing all over and then a drizzle of some icing mixed with cinnamon, to add some flavor! I also did it without any nuts! Well, everyone LOVED THEM!! Thanks! Here's my photo, the one with the purple border!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
Followed to a T, not too familiar with scones but this was more of a biscuit type. The dough was really wet so I added maybe another 1/2 cup of flour just to be able to "fold" it. It does need cinn/nutmeg/ginger, etc; not much flavor. Will not make again :/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StarMoon Mommi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
This was a very good scone recipe and I will use it again in the future. I did add spices (cinnamon and nutmeg) and 1 tsp. of vanilla to the batter. I also eliminated the pine nuts and substituted them for chocolate chips. Yum! I'm not sure what the scones would taste like without the cinnamon and nutmeg. I frosted these with homemade cream cheese frosting and drizzled them with melted chocolate. My family loved them and they want me to make them again. For me, that means a recipe was a success :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
Delish! Add spices, omit nuts. Cream cheese glaze set these off for me. A new fall fav :) Gotta say Chef John, you never disappoint!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Campbell River, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Port Hardy, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
These were YUMMY! Thanks for the delicous recipe Chef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
This is an amazing recipe! The kind you can't stop eating...I literally covered the top with cinnamon and sugar and put chopped dates and a handful of raisons in the scone. When I rolled it, I mixed sugar into the flour as I don't like flour coated scones. Definitely a remake in my house! Next time though, I'll top with cinnamon and course raw sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
These were lovely! I left out the pine nuts, since well, they're expensive and I didn't have any anyways. I added 1/2 tsp of cinnamon but next time my husband said I should add a full tsp, along with some other traditional pumpkin spices. As it was, it was just as Chef John described: not too moist, not too dry. The glaze was a nice touch. And these were even better warmed up in the toaster oven. This will become a standard recipe for using up my garden sugar pie pumpkins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
These are some great scones! I recommend substituting mini chocolate chips if you don't like pine nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
This did not have the consistency of a scone. It was more like a regular, moist bread. Scones should be crumbly. I made it exactly as the recipe instructed, but I added spices. It would have been very bland without them. We will finish eating them with honey on them, but I will not make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
These were very moist, but the pine nuts ruined it for everyone in the family. I will make these again, but use walnuts instead. A more classic taste ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat Leedom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Federal Heights, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pumpkin Scones

Put a tasty winter twist on classic pumpkin scones.

Chef John's Popovers

See how to make light and airy popovers with a crispy crust.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States