Chef John's Pumpkin Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I really liked the texture of this scone. I have to say that I added a little bit of cinnamon, nutmeg, and would have added ginger if I had any. I also have to admit that I didn't read the directions all the way through and threw in the egg with the wet ingredients. That meant I added a little more flour when 'folding' it. This was the closest to a 'Stbx' scone that I have found! Maple glaze = YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Overgaard
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
I took the advice of several of the reviewers and added cinnamon and chocolate chips and these were divine. Thank you Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
These are delicious, light layers within the crumb with just the right amount of sweetness. I used pumpkin seeds (pepitas) instead of pine nuts. I did not add any extra spices but that would be good as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
Delish! Add spices, omit nuts. Cream cheese glaze set these off for me. A new fall fav :) Gotta say Chef John, you never disappoint!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Campbell River, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Port Hardy, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LuxorRio
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Delicious! I made them today! It was easy and I did with regular icing all over and then a drizzle of some icing mixed with cinnamon, to add some flavor! I also did it without any nuts! Well, everyone LOVED THEM!! Thanks! Here's my photo, the one with the purple border!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I am going to give this a full 5 stars because I love the texture of this scone. It is light and moist for a scone. The taste is so nice but I did use fresh cooked pumpkin and added cinnamon, ground ginger and a bit of pumpkin pie spice. I would definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VAZ123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochelle, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
These were lovely! I left out the pine nuts, since well, they're expensive and I didn't have any anyways. I added 1/2 tsp of cinnamon but next time my husband said I should add a full tsp, along with some other traditional pumpkin spices. As it was, it was just as Chef John described: not too moist, not too dry. The glaze was a nice touch. And these were even better warmed up in the toaster oven. This will become a standard recipe for using up my garden sugar pie pumpkins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
This is an amazing recipe! The kind you can't stop eating...I literally covered the top with cinnamon and sugar and put chopped dates and a handful of raisons in the scone. When I rolled it, I mixed sugar into the flour as I don't like flour coated scones. Definitely a remake in my house! Next time though, I'll top with cinnamon and course raw sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
These were YUMMY! Thanks for the delicous recipe Chef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
This was a very good scone recipe and I will use it again in the future. I did add spices (cinnamon and nutmeg) and 1 tsp. of vanilla to the batter. I also eliminated the pine nuts and substituted them for chocolate chips. Yum! I'm not sure what the scones would taste like without the cinnamon and nutmeg. I frosted these with homemade cream cheese frosting and drizzled them with melted chocolate. My family loved them and they want me to make them again. For me, that means a recipe was a success :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Dutch Baby

See how to make quick, easy, impressive Dutch babies.

How to Make Pumpkin Scones

Put a tasty twist on classic pumpkin scones.

Chef John's Popovers

See how to make light and airy popovers with a crispy crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States